Total Metal Shop

BILL CUTLER “Crossing The Line” /Digipack CD/

    Band Info

  • Product Code: MTX-2316-2
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 6
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 5.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 59

< >

The debut full-length studio album by American Country/Classic Rock musician, songwriter and producer, known for his work with Grateful Dead band.
Bill Cutler arrived in San Francisco in 1970, spent the following decades producing other people’s records, and on his first album we can hear all those influences and experiences. His guitar and high tenor anchor these self-penned, intelligent Rock ’n’ Roll songs, covering the range of styles you’d expect from a musician who came of age in the 60s and 70s.
"Crossing The Line" is a nice piece of work finished after 30 years in the making. Singing lead vocals and playing rhythm guitar on 14 original songs, Cutler is joined on his new album by many of the legendary Bay Area musicians he has worked with in the past. The first half was recorded back in the 1970s at Wally Heider's Studios in San Francisco, with Steve Barncard engineering, and a great bunch of players, including Jerry Garcia and Scotty Quik on lead guitars, Austin deLone on keys, Pat Campbell on bass, and Carl Tassi on drums. Those tracks were not completed at the time and remained unfinished, until Bill finally recorded the second half of this album in 2000, using some of the same musicians, along with lead guitarists Jorma Kaukonen, Jerry Miller, Mark Karan, David Nelson, and Barry Sless on various tracks. The original analog tapes have been restored and given a state-of-the-art sound by engineer/mixer Russell Bond. Six of tracks were recorded with Jerry Garcia (ex- Grateful Dead; R.I.P.). The other included stalwarts are Bob Weir, Jeff Watson, Matthew Kelly, and Michael Falzarano.
But before you go thinking this is a long lost Grateful Dead album, think again, because the credit here should go to Cutler. Although it may sound a bit like "In The Dark"’s long lost cousin, Cutler is front and center with his vocals, which are most impressive, along with the crisp production that screams old-school glory.  There are many keepers here, including “Ridin’ High”, “Starlite Jamboree”, and “Rockingham Mill”, all of which dance to their own groovy beat.
After listening the whole album, you will hear the work of someone who really knows his hooks. Since it’s a producer’s album, every note is in its place and every instrument’s tone is pure. It’s great to hear Garcia’s unmistakable solos in this context, especially on the warm, extended, two-chord jam ending “Delta Nightingale” and, weirdly, on “Starlite Jamboree”, which is Bill’s eulogy for Jerry. This is the advantage to developing an album’s worth of tracks over about 20 years! As a songwriter, performer, producer and manager, Bill Cutler continues to work in all aspects of today’s music business. So, don’t let another 30 years pass you by before giving this one a spin!!
Enhanced CD features video “The Back Story of Crossing the Line”.
Magnatude Records, 2008 (MTX-2316-2). Made in USA. First press.

1. Engine 99 4:38
2. Cry of the City 6:08
3. Rockingham Hill 4:02
4. Sailin' Man 5:42
5. Crossing the Line 4:33
6. Ridin' High 5:55
7. Sugar for Sugar 3:42
8. Starlite Jamboree 4:15
9. Ballad of Bras Coupe 3:54
10. Boy with A Future 4:09
11. Burning the Candle 2:52
12. Slow Glider 5:04
13. Flash Flood 4:34
14. Delta Nightingale 9:17
The Back Story of Crossing the Line 4:32



Leave a review

Please login or register to review