Total Metal Shop

EDGUY “Space Police - Defenders Of The Crown” /CD/

    Band Info

    Band: EDGUY
  • Product Code: NB 3282-2
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 16
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 15.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 159

< >

The eleventh full-length studio album by legendary German Power Metal band.
"Defenders Of The Crown" marks Edguy's return, and it was preceded by cautious and safe statements from the band's side. Band finally decided to listen to the fans' prayers and to take a step back, to disown that kind of weak power Hard Rock of which their recent works were tainted, embracing again the sound Edguy mastered through the years. "Defenders Of The Crown" embodies once again the typical German Power Metal style: heavy, fast and cheesy, incredibly catchy, and with a stellar performance by Sammet - and his bandmates too. This album proves these guys are still hot and burning!
Quite ironically, while Avantasia was born from a rib of Edguy, now the first is bringing the latter back to life, since "Defenders Of The Crown" has many Avantasia traits. From the opener "Sabre & Torch", that many correctly matched with "Invoke The Machine" from 2013's "The Mystery Of Time", to the 9-minute closer "The Eternal Wayfarer", which just sounds like Edguy covering Led Zeppelin, everything is over the top and epic. It's been way too many years since we couldn't associate "epic" with the band.
But, obviously, this is Edguy. The fun traits of the band also shine here, both with Tobi's well-known antics spread over various tracks ("Do Me Like A Caveman") and in the rather unexpected cover of Falco's "Rock Me Amadeus". Some of you will cry while blessing your ears with it!
"Defenders Of The Crown" is a great release, the first in a long time that doesn't cast aspersions on "Mandrake" and "Hellfire Club" 's memory. With restored songwriting and musicianship, Edguy are back on track!! Back to Baba Yaga!!!)
Nuclear Blast Records, 2014 (NB 3282-2). Made in Germany. First press.

1. Sabre & Torch 5:02
2. Space Police 6:02
3. Defenders Of The Crown 5:40
4. Love Tyger 4:26
5. The Realms Of Baba Yaga 6:09
6. Rock Me Amadeus 3:21
7. Do Me Like A Caveman 4:09
8. Shadow Eaters 6:11
9. Alone In Myself 4:36
10. The Eternal Wayfarer 8:52
Total playing time: 54:28 min.

Leave a review

Please login or register to review