Total Metal Shop

GLASGOW “Zero Four One” /CD/

    Band Info

    Band: GLASGOW
  • Product Code: SNTCD 041
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 10
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 9.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 99

< >

Used (cover/disc): EX+/EX+

The only full-length studio album by British AOR/Heavy Metal band.
"Zero Four One" title is actually the dialling code for Glasgow, Scotland, where the band from, and the band could almost have been sponsored by the Scottish tourist board as they most definitely flew the flag for this proud and most beautiful of countries. Sadly, the band was a short-lived affair but quite a few years of development went into getting the band to the stage where they released this album, and then they eventually folded in the early ’90s, although there have been several resurrections and there is a new, current version of the band alive and well north of the border, we all wish them well. It is a real pity that this was not the springboard from them to go on to a great career, as this is a most assured debut with some fabulous songs and great performances.
Michael Boyle has a great voice and drives the band forward with authority, with Archie Dickson playing quite splendid solos and riffs to die for. Then, of course, is the drumming of Paul McManus, as good a drummer as there has ever been, and he is more than ably supported by the bass work of Neil Russell. The keyboards are understated and used for effect as this is a traditional, straight forward Hard Rock band, with Melodic Rock tendencies, so all songs have great hooks and lots of vocal harmonies to make this a most easy listening album indeed. Of course, it is ’80s Scottish rock so if you were into bands like Heavy Pettin then you will love this and there are even passages that hint at the heavier work of Pallas too. 
A great Rocking album of inspired ’80s Hard Rock with plenty of melody and great songs from a band that really should have been huge! If ever a band deserved a little luck, then it is Glasgow!!
Sonet Publishing Ltd., 1987/2009 (SNTCD 041). Bootlegged replica. Used (cover/disc): EX+/EX+.

1. We Will Rock 5:39
2. Secrets In The Dark (Chris Thompson cover) 4:19
3. Back On The Run 6:19
4. My Heart Is Running With The Night 4:06
5. Meet Me Halfway 3:27
6. Under The Lights 5:25
7. No More Lonely Nights 6:51
8. Breakout 4:50
Total playing time: 40:56 min.

Leave a review

Please login or register to review