Total Metal Shop

STEVE VAI “Alien Love Secrets” /CD/

    Band Info

    Band: STEVE VAI
  • Product Code: 478586 2
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 13
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 12.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 129

< >

The sixth full-length album by the legendary American guitarist-virtuoso.
After the disastrous full-band Heavy Metal project of Sex & Religion, Steve Vai returned to recording solo with "Alien Love Secrets". It's a moodier, more atmospheric collection than his masterpiece, "Passion And Warfare", which makes it slightly revelatory. With the new sonic textures, the guitarist again demonstrates his fluid technique, which manages to never become completely mechanical. Considered by musician as EP, really this if full-length album.
Steve Vai: "The recording and release of "Alien Love Secrets" marked another turning point in my personal evolution. I felt independent again and immensely happy. I was more concerned with making the record that I wanted to make, and not worry about what some others thought I should be doing. It also marked the beginning of the professional relationship with my current manager, Ruta Sepetys. She is everything that you would never expect in the typical music biz manager. She is honest, driven, sincere, shrewd and compassionate all rolled into a powerful yet unassuming beautiful blond-haired frame".
Overall, this was a very interesting album for Steve Vai. Some tracks ("Bad Horsie", "Ya-Yo Gakk") are really out there in terms of the guitar effects and other... effects, while another is normal ("Die to Live"). Still another is in the Metal genre ("Kill the Guy with the Ball") while the other two are great ballads ("The Boy from Seattle", "Tender Surrender"). It just goes to show you how versatile and creative this man is. There's something for everyone on the CD!!
The album reached No. 125 on the U.S. Billboard 200 and remained on that chart for two weeks, as well as reaching No. 72 on the Dutch albums chart.
Relativity Records Inc., 1995 (478586 2). Made in Austria. First press.

1. Bad Horsie 5:51
2. Juice 3:44
3. Die To Love 3:52
4. The Boy From Seattle 5:04
5. Ya-Yo Gakk 2:52
6. Kill The Guy With The Ball / The God Eaters 7:02
7. Tender Surrender 5:09
Total playing time: 33:34


Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products

G3 (Joe Satriani / Steve Vai / Yngwie Malmsteen) “Live In Denver” /DVD; Live/
G3 (Joe Satriani / Steve Vai / Yngwie Malmsteen) “Live In Denver” /DVD; Live/

A live DVD of the touring band of Joe Satriani and Steve Vai in which they invite another player to come tour with them. In 2003, Yngwie Malmsteen was the chosen one. Joe Satriani, Yngwie Malmsteen and Steve Vai make up the all-star, who came together in October of 2003 for a series of shows throug..

€ 5.90