Total Metal Shop

EUROPE “Bag Of Bones” /CD/

    Band Info

    Band: EUROPE
  • Product Code: 88691956202
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 12
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 11.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 119

< >

The ninth full-length studio album by the legendary Swedish Hard Rock band.
This album of Swedish Soft Metal veterans finds Europe singing the Blues. Big, beefy, melodic, and bristling with '70s riffage and croaking Hammond B-3 swells, "Bag Of Bones" revels in Hard Rock clichés, but does so with enough energy and attitude to warrant more than a cursory listen. The Led Zeppelin aping, as has been the case in the years since they achieved Stadium Rock sainthood with "The Final Countdown", is still in full effect, especially on "Drink and a Smile", but at least they've got it down to a science. Caught somewhere between "Badmotorfinger"-era Soundgarden, early Deep Purple, and Stevie Ray Vaughan, "Bag Of Bones" offers up some gems in the blistering Europe's debt crisis: opener "Riches to Rags", the Neo-Prog-Pop of "Firebox", and the Bad Company-meets-Cinderella balladry of the moody title cut.
The whole band shines thanks to Kevin Shirley’s devastating production job, but the emphasis is surely on the twin stars of Joey Tempest and John Norum who turn in performances that are simply stunning from start to finish. "Bag Of bones" is a stunning, adrenalin charged, emotional and sexy forty minutes of Classic Hard Rock album. Better, miraculously, than the quite excellent "Last Look At Eden", there is no disputing that Europe are on the form of their lives and, perhaps with the exception of Black Country Communion, there is not a similarly themed band who can touch them at this point in time!
Cherish this album because it has one quality that so few modern bands lack – integrity. Europe have lived larger than life, seen the highs and lows of enduring fame and weathered the storms of fickle fortune to emerge wiser, stronger and better than ever with an album that is not only a career high but also a strong contender for Rock album of the year!!
"Bag Of Bones" is the first Europe album to chart in UK Top 100 Albums since "Prisoners In Paradise" in 1991 and also entered in UK Top 40 Rock Albums at number 3.
Hell And Beck AB/Gain Productions AB/Sony Music, 2012 (88691956202). Made in Austria. First press.

1. Riches To Rags 3:04
2. Not Supposed To Sing The Blues 5:12
3. Firebox 3:46
4. Bag Of Bones 5:30
5. Requiem 0:28
6. My Woman My Freind 4:24
7. Demon Head 3:58
8. Drink And A Smile 2:21
9. Doghouse 3:57
10. Mercy You Mercy Me 4:30
11. Bring It All Home 3:38
Total playing time: 41:01 min.


Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products

EUROPE “Rock The Night – Collectors Edition” /DVD/
EUROPE “Rock The Night – Collectors Edition” /DVD/

The third full-length video album and the second DVD by the legendary Swedish Melodic Hard Rock/Soft Metal band. It features the music videos the band made from 1986 to 1992. The bonus material is live footage and interviews from Swedish TV.  The DVD was released as “Rock The World&rdqu..

€ 5.90

EUROPE “War Of Kings” /CD/
EUROPE “War Of Kings” /CD/

The tenth full-length studio album by the legendary Swedish Hard Rock band. Keeping roughly the same lineup for almost 29 years, 2015 saw the band's 10th album and first under UDR Records. Whereas the past two albums were rather mellow in comparison, the new release has seen them come back heav..

€ 16.90