Total Metal Shop

STRATOVARIUS “Stratovarius” /CD/

  • STRATOVARIUS “Stratovarius” /CD/

    Band Info

  • Product Code: MYNCD040
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 6
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 5.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 59

< >

The 11th full-length album by legendary Finnish Melodic Power Metal band.
This release of Stratovarius came after a highly troubled period for the band in 2004, during which they temporarily split up following a nervous breakdown suffered by Tolkki. After a year-long hiatus, they reunited in 2005 and embarked upon a worldwide tour for the album, playing for the first time in the United States and Canada.
Stylistically the album displays a dramatically noticeable shift from the Symphonic Power Metal sound of previous albums: the songs are more hard-edged and slower, with Tolkki's signature Neo-classical Shred soloing almost completely absent. Keyboardist Jens Johansson's role is particularly restricted, as well as Jörg Michael's drumming, which features hardly any of his signature double bass playing. Singer Timo Kotipelto also attempts a different vocal approach, mostly avoiding his usual high vocal range. Tolkki has since stated in interviews that he was unsatisfied with the end result of the album, due to it being too far removed from the band's true style.
The album is the last to feature the band's longest-standing line-up which had been consistent since “Episode” (1996), as bassist Jari Kainulainen would leave Stratovarius later in the year, followed by guitarist and bandleader Timo Tolkki in 2008.
Album reached #4 on that year's Finnish albums chart and remained charted for four weeks, as well as #52 on the Italian albums chart, where it remained charted for one week. 
Mayan Records/Moon Records, 2005 (MYNCD040/MR 1320-2). Made in Ukraine.

1. Maniac Dance     04:35
2. Fight!!!     04:03
3. Just Carry On     05:28
4. Back to Madness     07:43
5. Gypsy in Me     04:28
6. Götterdämmerung (Zenith of Power)     07:13
7. The Land of Ice and Snow     03:05
8. Leave the Tribe     05:42
9. United     07:02
Total playing time: 49:19

Leave a review

Please login or register to review