The third full-length album by Slovakian Progressive/Power Metal band.
This Slovakian Melodic Metal band formed in 2007 by bass player Ronnie König. Göran Edman joins the band, and they started working in debut album. The self-titled album was released in 2008, receiving great reviews from around the world. Their next release comes in 2010 in the form of a concept album “The Eyes Of Power”, that gets well received.
In the writing process for their third album, it became clear that the album needs more vocalists than one, since the idea was to make a diverse and quite deep concept album. And it comes out in the form of “Exodus”. It`s a historical concept album about the Israelites who were enslaved in ancient Egypt, and it features different vocalist on each track. The album opens with acoustic “On The Nile”, and makes a short instrumental brake in the middle with amazing Melodic “Last Days In Egypt”.
Every song on this release is quite different than the other (choosing different vocalist for each song can add to diversity), but fit perfectly connected with overall theme of the album. You can also find a quite diversity in the sound of guitars, from heavier robust riffs in “Let Us Go!” to a more content in “Song of Deliverance”, and let`s not forget the outstanding solos in “Wrath of Pharaoh”…
The story of "Exodus" is well known to almost everybody, and it`s quite nicely turned into lyrics. While listening one gets the idea that every song was written with each singer performing it in mind. Each and every one of them brings the last missing piece to the track they`re performing, the singing style or the sound of their voice. On that part everything`s fitting perfectly.
The production of album is great; instrumentations are well blended, so that every involved instrument can be heard.
Concept albums are one of the most risky ones to make, having in mind that a lot pieces need to fall into right place. While listening to “Exodus” you get an idea that making concept album is quite simple. That’s how Signum Regis made it sound like. The epic story under layered with amazing music, nicely written lyrics, and all that sang by amazing singers.
If you’re a fan of concept albums make sure you don’t miss out on this one, and if you’re not make sure that you hear it at least, might just change your mind regarding concept albums!
"Exodus" feat. guest vocals by Lance King (ex. Pyramaze, Balance of Power), Michael Vescera (Obsession, Animetal USA), Matt Smith (Theocracy), Daísa Munhoz (Vandroya, Soulspell), Eli Prinsen (Sacred Warrior, The Sacrificed), Samuel Nyman (Manimal), Thomas L. Winkler (Gloryhammer, Emerald), Göran Edman (ex. Yngwie Malmsteen, John Norum) and Mayo Petranin (Castaway). The album was mastered by Tommy Hansen (Helloween, Jorn, Circus Maximus) and the artwork was created by Felipe Machado Franco (Blind Guardian, Rhapsody Of Fire).
Don’t miss out on “Exodus”, one of the most interesting concept albums of 2013!!
Ulterium Records, 2013 (ULTCD024). Made in Sweden. First press

1. On The Nile     2:19 
2. Enslaved     4:50 
3. The Promised Land     5:34 
4. Let Us Go!     4:06 
5. Wrath Of Pharaoh     4:04 
6. The Ten Plagues     4:47 
7. Last Days In Eygpt     3:54 
8. Exodus     4:17 
9. Song Of Deliverance     7:02 
10. Sole Survivor     4:36 
Bonus Track:
11. Mountain Of God     4:08
Total playing time: 49:37


Leave a review

Please login or register to review