Total Metal Shop

RUNIC “Liar Flags” /CD/

    DIscount -51%
  • RUNIC “Liar Flags” /CD/
  • RUNIC “Liar Flags” /CD/

    Band Info

    Band: RUNIC
  • Product Code: MAS CD0505
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 9.90
  • € 4.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 49

< >

The debut full-length album by the Spanish Pagan/Folk/Viking Metal band.
The swords are painted in blood, the barrels are full of beer and the fellow Vikings are singing hymns to Thor!
Runic were formed in 2000 in order to produce something that can be described as Folk Death Metal. In 2001, they released a six-track Demo, "Awaiting The Sound Of The Unavoidable". Their hard work was rewarded with a contract with Massacre Records in October 2005. The result of this contract is "Liar Flags".
Even though Runic have absolutely nothing to do with the race of the mighty Vikings, they managed to release an album that kicks some major Scandinavian ass!!! Their composing skill is more than good, creating nine tracks of pure Pagan Death Metal. If you are a bit into Ensiferum or Finntroll then you know what it is. Everything has been played and structured so good that this record has been given the fresh air it needs. Even the keyboards are used smartly so as to add to the music. The keyboardist is really indispensable to Runic. He knows just where he has to play and exactly what he has to do. Some times making the climate more atmospheric and melancholic, other times starting an all out attack. These Spanish guys really know what a medieval battle looked like!
"Liar Flags" is the best soundtrack a battle could ever have! An aggressive breakthrough by Runic!! Many bands would really beg to release a debut like this one!!! It is a bomb that will explode and won't leave anything alive!!!! Be sure to stand somewhere near!!!!!
For fans of: Ensiferum, King of Asgard, Karlahan, Northland and more!
Massacre Records, 2006 (MAS CD0505). Made in Germany. First press.

1. When the Demons Ride 06:09
2. Liar Flags 06:29
3. Last Days of Aghrapur Pt.I: Ambush 05:47
4. Last Days of Aghrapur Pt.II: Lost Empire 03:32
5. Predecessor 05:33
6. To the Fallen Ones 06:37
7. Vs Myself 04:37
8. Nau (Luar Na Lubre Cover) 03:09
9. And a New Journey Begins 01:38
Total playing time: 43:31

Leave a review

Please login or register to review