PRIMITIVE GRAVEN IMAGE “Traversing The Awesome Night” + “Hellish Figurines” /CD/

    Band Info

  • Product Code: UKEM-CD-018
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 6
  • Availability: In Stock

  • €5.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 59

< >

First re-release of the debut full-length album by British Black Metal band.
Primitive Graven Image were formed in 2006 by guitarist brothers Rob 'Ljosalfur' and Luke 'Dokkalfur' Lehane. Nowadays, the band is well known on the London live scene and have a reputation as a solid live band, but they also have some good songs to back this up.
"Traversing The Awesome Night" originally was released in 2007 by Open Grave Records. The album contains a whopping 16 songs of traditional Black Metal, although not every song is of the same standard. There are a few mediocre songs, but also some that stand out.
The first ten tracks are from the "Traversing The Awesome Night" album, which opens magnificently with "Bringer Of Dark And Light", the guitar sound has that tinny, twanging rattle that is so great about and typifies the sound of early Black Metal; reminds of Burzum. The other standout tracks are "None Shall Stand", with its fast intense tempo and crashing cymbals, "Design", which has a fabulous, plodding Black Metal rhythm, "Fear And Fire" - a slow sinister building track, but it's not long before the pace runs away out of control just like a terrifying fire. "Earth's Wrath" opens on a rasping scream that accompanies the plodding rhythms of this dark hypnotic track. You'll like the pumping dirty groove to "Battleride", a head nodder of a track. "The Shriek Of Death" is dark and hypnotic with vocals so intense and grating that they grind your soul to a pulp.
The final six tracks are from the demo "Hellish Figurines".
"The Night Of Dokkalfur And Ljosalfur" - an atmospheric, symphonic instrumental opener named after the band founders. "None Shall Stand" has excellent guitar work as the track opens and before the superb vocals kick in. There is, on this track in particular, a wonderful rawness to the sound and it's awash with crashing cymbals. "Of What We Have Become" has a hollow, echoing edge; a dark, haunting track. "The Journey To The Forest" is not just an ordinary journey into the forest but one filled with horror and terror, this track features twice as it was also on the first album as well as the demo.
The brothers were inspired to create this out of a love for the traditional Black Metal style of bands such as Immortal, Darkthrone and Emperor, as a result it is very much a generic offering of that style of Black Metal and although it is not a standout album it is still very atmospheric and listenable with a nice classic feel!!
Re-release features renewed cover artwork, extensive liner notes and includes band's demo 2006 “Hellish Figurines” as a bonus! This is an excellent opportunity to re-visit the bands earlier material and be a part of Primitive Graven Images’ history and development!!
UKEM Records/Envenomation Records, 2007/2010 (UKEM-CD-018). Made in UK.


Traversing The Awesome Night
1. Bringer of Dark and Light 04:06 
2. None Shall Stand 03:22 
3. Design 05:46 
4. Fear and Fire 05:05 
5. The Journey to the Forest 02:56 
6. As I Wander 06:19 
7. Earth's Wrath 03:30 
8. Battleride 05:58 
9. Victorious 06:43 
10. The Shriek of Death 04:52

Hellish Figurines
1.The Night of Dokkalfur & Ljosalfur 01:09 
2.None Shall Stand 03:20 
3.Of What We Have Become 04:22 
4.The Journey to the Forest 02:53 
5.For All Mankind 03:46 
6.Blood Red Heart 04:04

Total playing time: 68:20


Leave a review

Please login or register to review