Total Metal Shop

HELEVORN “Aamamata” /CD/

    Band Info

    Band: HELEVORN
  • Product Code: BMM. 085-19
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 13
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 12.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 129

< >

The fourth full-length studio album by Spanish Gothic Doom/Death Metal band.
This band has a unique way of shaping their craft of Gothic Doom Metal, with elements of Death Metal. With “Aamamata”, vocalist Josep Brunet incorporates low growls with clean singing. Hoverer this technique is usually not executed well by most bands, who want to introduce heavier elements into generally lighter sounding music, Helevorn manages to maintain a key sound that differentiates from these two vocal styles, and build upon the idea with each individual track.
“Blackened Waves” brings out the melodic, melancholy sound that the album remains neutrally true to. It is one of the three standout tracks of the album, and includes an addictive drum tempo, a roaring choir, and an isolated lead singer whose heart and soul clearly remain focused on the performance, varying from soulful singing to tentative spoken word.
“Forgotten Fields” is a productive journey that has its rightful place on the record, with a good amount of Death Metal influence; complete with gnarly growls and a nice constant riff. The track can quite fittingly be the soundtrack of a desperate, long journey - the hike to the top of a mountain, or a voyage across the seven seas.
“The Path To Puya” has to be the most glorious, beautifully nightmarish track on the record. It spans a total of eight minutes and details an epic journey; hence the title. Beginning slow and sludgy, the varying vocal styles call back and forth, almost like two voices speaking to one another. The listener can only image the battle going on in the person’s head as they are sent on such an agonizing journey, unlimited by time.
The album’s production is flawless, and accentuates each instrument and vocal style. The standout tracks will vary for each listener. The tracks are gracefully structured and reminiscent of dreams and loneliness, bringing the band’s message to the forefront of the listener’s mind. The image is sombre, moody, and full of life to give.
In the large list of contributors, you can find Heike Langhans of Draconian, who sings in a song of the album.
This album is a bit more epic, intense and dark than the previous, "Compassion Forlorn", which had excellent reviews and took the band to play in several European cities, and it will delight to all the Doom Metal fans over the world!!
A delightfully enjoyable record for fans of Moonspell and old Paradise Lost!!
BadMoodMan Music, 2019 (BMM. 085-19). First press. 24-kt Gold Disc.

1. A Sail to Sanity 05:25
2. Goodbye, Hope 05:58
3. Blackened Waves 05:27
4. Aurora 07:24
5. Forgotten Fields 05:45
6. Nostrum Mare (Et deixo un pont de mar blava) 07:28
7. Once upon a War 05:56
8. The Path to Puya 08:39
9. La Sibil·La 05:06
Total playing time: 57:10 min.


Leave a review

Please login or register to review