Total Metal Shop

BRUCE DICKINSON “Tattooed Millionaire” /Expanded Edition 2CD/

    Band Info

  • Product Code: SMEDD198
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 17
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 16.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 169

< >

Expanded Edition second (and first remastered) re-release of the debut solo album by legendary British Heavy Metal/Hard Rock singer, the Iron Maiden vocalist.
In 1990, Bruce Dickinson launched his solo career with "Tattooed Millionaire", which is far from a carbon copy of his work with Iron Maiden. Many of the fans who knew him as Maiden's lead vocalist assumed that this solo debut would be Maiden-like - they expected an album of aggressive yet melodic fantasy Metal in the Maiden/Ronnie James Dio/Black Sabbath vein. But "Tattooed Millionaire" found Dickinson favoring more of a Hard Rock/Pop-Metal approach. This album is full of glossy and lighthearted Soft Metal that wouldn't be out of place on an album by Winger, Bon Jovi or Def Leppard.
The album project began when Dickinson was asked to record a song for "A Nightmare on Elm Street 5: The Dream Child", and so wrote "Bring Your Daughter... to the Slaughter". Collaborating with future Iron Maiden guitarist Janick Gers, Dickinson began creating a solo album, which was fundamentally different from his works with Iron Maiden, with a Hard Rock sound that is less Progressive.
"Lickin' the Gun" is more Aerosmith than King Diamond, and "Son of a Gun" is more Bad Company than Candlemass. And while some Maiden worshipers might prefer to hear Dickinson singing fantasy Metal, the fact is that "Tattooed Millionaire" is excellent. With this album, Dickinson did what fellow Brit Rob Halford did on some of Judas Priest's more commercial and Pop-influenced releases - he showed listeners another side of himself and demonstrated that he wasn't obligated to embrace fantasy Metal 100 percent of the time. For Dickinson, coming out with something more Pop-minded didn't mean being contrived or unimaginative. "Tattooed Millionaire", for all its Pop-Metal gloss, has a lot of guts, and Dickinson is consistently inspired whether he is embracing original material or providing a memorable remake of David Bowie's "All the Young Dudes".
On subsequent solo efforts like 1994's "Balls To Picasso" and 1998's "The Chemical Wedding", the British vocalist got back to fantasy Metal. However, he seemed to need a break from it in 1990, and "Tattooed Millionaire" turned out to be a most pleasant surprise!
"Bring Your Daughter... to the Slaughter" wasn't included on the original release, as Iron Maiden planned to record an alternate version for their 1990 album "No Prayer For The Dying", which went on to become the band's only number one single on the UK Singles Chart to date. The album did yield four Top 40 singles in the UK, with the lead and title single "Tattooed Millionaire", reaching no. 18. A cover of the David Bowie penned, Mott The Hoople hit "All The Young Dudes", was also a relative success, reaching no. 23.
Expanded Edition re-release features second CD with eleven bonus tracks of rare demos, B-Sides and live tracks, including "Bring Your Daughter... to the Slaughter" in original Soundtrack Version!!
Sanctuary Midline/Sanctuary Records Group Ltd., 1990/1991/2005 (SMEDD198). Made in Germany. First press of Expanded Edition.


CD 1
1. Son Of A Gun 5:54
2. Tattooed Millionaire 4:27
3. Born In '58 3:39
4. Hell On Wheels 3:39
5. Gypsy Road 4:02
6. Dive! Dive! Dive! 4:40
7. All The Young Dudes (Mott The Hoople cover) 3:48
8. Lickin' The Gun 3:16
9. Zulu Lulu 3:27
10. No Lies 6:22

CD 2 (Bonus Tracks)
1. Bring Your Daughter...To The Slaughter (Original Soundtrack Version) 5:00
2. Ballad Of Mutt 3:34
3. Winds Of Change 3:22
4. Darkness Be My Friend 2:03
5. Sin City (AC/DC cover) 4:39
6. Dive! Dive! Dive! (Live) 4:43
7. Riding With The Angels (Live) 4:19
8. Sin City (AC/DC cover; live) 4:49
9. Black Night (Deep Purple cover; live) 4:33
10. Son Of A Gun (Live) 5:53
11. Tattooed Millionaire (Live) 4:35

Total playing time: 90:44 min.


Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products

BRUCE DICKINSON “Anthology” /Dual DVD/
BRUCE DICKINSON “Anthology” /Dual DVD/

Debut DVD and the second video release by the solo-project of legendary Iron Maiden’s vocalist. Bruce Dickinson is still the proverbial human whirlwind of activity, having made his mark both as the frontman of the legendary Iron Maiden and as a longstanding solo artist, with a catalogue that ..

€ 4.90

BRUCE DICKINSON “Accident Of Birth” + “Man Of Sorrows” /Expanded Edition 2CD/
BRUCE DICKINSON “Accident Of Birth” + “Man Of Sorrows” /Expanded Edition 2CD/

Expanded Edition first re-release of the fourth solo album by legendary British Heavy Metal singer, the Iron Maiden vocalist. This is the second album made in collaboration with guitarist/producer Roy "Roy Z" Ramirez and is therefore much different from Bruce's previous "Skunkwor..

€ 17.90

BRUCE DICKINSON “Skunkworks” /Deluxe Expanded Edition Slipcase 2CD/
BRUCE DICKINSON “Skunkworks” /Deluxe Expanded Edition Slipcase 2CD/

Expanded Edition first re-release of the third solo album by legendary British Heavy Metal singer, the Iron Maiden vocalist. "Skunkworks" is an Alternative Rock album. Originally, Bruce intended for "Skunkworks" to be the debut album of a band by the same name. However, the labe..

€ 19.90

BRUCE DICKINSON “The Chemical Wedding” /CD/
BRUCE DICKINSON “The Chemical Wedding” /CD/

Expanded Edition re-release of the fifth full-length album by the legendary British Heavy Metal singer, Iron Maiden frontman. With 1997's "Accident Of Birth", Bruce Dickinson returned to the top of the Heavy Metal food chain. It combined the right characteristics that a popular Metal ..

€ 17.90