Total Metal Shop

WHELM “A Gaze Blank And Pitiless As The Sun” /CD/

    DIscount -51%
  • WHELM “A Gaze Blank And Pitiless As The Sun” /CD/
  • WHELM “A Gaze Blank And Pitiless As The Sun” /CD/
  • WHELM “A Gaze Blank And Pitiless As The Sun” /CD/

    Band Info

    Band: WHELM
  • Product Code: ADCD 029
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 7.90
  • € 3.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 39

< >

The debut and only full-length studio album by Danish Doom/Sludge Metal band.
Since it's inception, the band have relentlessly pursued the darker side of the Metal genre, creating a crushing and devastatingly heavy music. Whelm's debut album is witness to a form of Doom Metal, influenced by early Black Metal, Oldschool Death and Post Rock. 
The album name derives from the 1919 WB Yeats poem "The Second Coming". The musical texture is further enriched with a wide selection of instruments rarely seen in the Metal genre.
The band create moments of beauty, darkness and brutality - pure bliss. In 55 minutes, band takes us down in utter darkness. The album is quite constant in its brutal, yet atmospherical sound, though now and again there are some differences that wake you up from a depressive slumber.
All in all, this is a great Doom/Sludge album with Progressive elements. The vocals are hauntingly pained, the music is solid. Enough songs though with lengthy and varied musical themes. Try them!
Aesthetic Death, 2015 (ADCD 029). Made in UK. Pressed in Germany. First press.

1. Tann døkka jørð 02:23   
2. The Brazen Bull 04:40   
3. From the Trenches of Perception 07:30   
4. Perpetual Blindness 05:14   
5. Delphine La Laurie 12:05   
6. The Wrecked Orchestra 02:24   
7. Ghosts in the Undergrowth 08:43   
8. Event Horizon 11:54  
Total playing time: 54:53 min.


Leave a review

Please login or register to review