Total Metal Shop

TNT "A Farewell To Arms" /CD/

    Band Info

    Band: TNT
  • Product Code: IROND CD 11-DD845
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 7
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 6.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 69

< >

Used: good.

The twelfth full-length album by Norwegian Hard Rock/Heavy Metal band.
In the USA and Scandinavia, the album has been titled as "Engine" for reasons best known to record companies. Album features 11 new songs and a redo of “Harley Davidson” (as a European bonus track), which originally appeared on their self-titled debut release back in ’82. The song “Not Only Lonely” appears on the Japanese release as a bonus track.
Since forming in 1982 the band have been through many lineup changes, and the current lineup includes two members from the 1982 lineup - Ronni Le Tekrø (Guitar) and Morten "Diesel" Dahl (Drums). They are joined by Victor Borge (Bass) and Tony Mills (Vocals), both of whom have been with the band for around five years. After two albums with vocalist Tony Mills, TNT finally may have settled down a bit, returning to a heavy, less experimental vibe. Now TNT is ready to Rock again!
With 12 studio albums under their belt, it is easy to hear that the composition is strongly influenced by Tekro. With Tekro and Mills credited as writing the majority of the music, it’s easy to see why Mills was asked to join the band. His vocal range is a perfect match for Tekro’s frantic guitar playing. At times, his vocals are eerily similar to Harnell but not in a copy-cat way, maybe it’s just that he has incredible range and can sing way up in the stratosphere, which is exactly where Tekro playing is.
“A Farewell To Arms” is heavy, and it’s melodic… it’s also a bit experimental. But this time around, that experimentation is reigned in considerably. The album kicks off with "Engine" which starts with some distorted electric guitar before the song kicks in at full power. This is definitely a heavy track, and it sets the tone for the album - plenty of heavy guitars, great tunes and great vocals making this a great Hard Rock album. "Refugee" slows the pace slightly, but not significantly, before "Ship in the night" - a classic TNT Melodic Rock song with a good catchy chorus. The album ends with "God natt, Marie" (ignoring the bonus track on the European version) - a slow gentle ballad/lullaby.
From a fan perspective, after veering off the path to find a new identity, TNT returns with a vengeance. "A Farewell To Arms" hits you a lot like "My Religion" did when it came out. The main difference between the two albums is the guitars are heavier. There’s not a bad song on the CD.
TNT got criticism from many fans following their two previous albums, but this album should avoid that fate - this is TNT back to their best, and all Hard Rock fans should consider checking this album out!!
Metal Heaven/Dark Division, 2011 (IROND CD 11-DD845). Made in Russia. Used: good.

1. Engine 4:37 
2. Refugee 4:18 
3. Ship In The Night 4:00 
4. Take It Like A Man - Woman! 3:01 
5. Come 3:41 
6. Barracuda 2:39 
7. A Signature On A Demon's Self-Portrait 0:57 I
8. Don't Misunderstand Me 3:28 
9. A Farewell To Arms 2:39 
10. Someone Else 4:21 
11. God Natt, Marie 4:28 
12. Harley Davidson (European Bonus Track) 3:33
Total playing time: 41:42

Leave a review

Please login or register to review