Total Metal Shop

SLAVE TO THE SYSTEM "Slave To The System" /CD/

    Band Info

  • Product Code: SPITCD263
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 4
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 3.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 39

< >

Used: very good.

Remastered re-release of the debut full-length album by American Alternative Hard Rock superband.
The superband consisting of Brother Cane and Queensrÿche band members, and was formed in 2000.
In 2000, the band Queensrÿche went on a break after finishing a 6-month tour in support of Q2K. Drummer Scott Rockenfield and guitarist Kelly Gray, who played in Queensrÿche at that time, were discussing what to do. Gray had worked with Brother Cane on a project, and remained close to singer and guitarist Damon Johnson and bassist Roman Glick. He called Johnson in the summer of 2000, and suggested him to give Rockenfield a call. Rockenfield knew of the band, but never met them. The name "Slave To The System" describes the effect of corporate minds on an artist's music, and hints at the band members' dissatisfaction with the record industry. The name was coined by Gray even before the band members first met.
The band sent demos to various record labels trying to negotiate a record deal. In 2002, they decided to release the album on their own. They independently released the album "Slave To The System" in 2002. The music consists both the old and new schools of Rock and Metal, including Led Zeppelin, Deep Purple, Thin Lizzy, Audioslave and Velvet Revolver influences.
The band played one show in Tennessee and another Seattle after this release. In February 2004, Heard left for undisclosed reasons, and they continued as a four-piece.
Eventually in 2005, the band got signed to Spitfire Records. The original release was remixed and remastered by Spitfire, before they released it on February 21, 2006. The re-release included two new songs, "Cruise Out of Control" and "Ragdoll", featuring Gray on vocals. It received radio play and its sales got the album up to number 25 on the charts.
Spitfire Records/Eagle Rock Entertainment, 2002/2006 (SPITCD263). Used: very good.

1. Stigmata 3:14
2. Ruby Wednesday 3:02
3. Slave To The System 4:34
4. Live This Life 4:04
5. Cruise Out Of Control 3:54
6. Abyss 4:13
7. Disinfected 3:29
8. Gone Today 4:37
9. Will You Be There 3:38
10. Leaves 4:45
11. Ragdoll 3:35
12. Walk The Line 4:53
Total playing time: 47:58


Leave a review

Please login or register to review