Luca Turilli’s RHAPSODY “Ascending To Infinity” /CD/

  • €4.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 49

< >

Used: very good.

The first full-length studio album by Italian Symphonic Power Metal band.
What was not so long ago known as the bombastic Symphonic Power Metal figurehead - Rhapsody, then slowly became the not as good Rhapsody Of Fire (the name changed because of a now well-known copyright issue), and split in 2011 to become two distinct bands: Rhapsody Of Fire (Alex Staropoli, Fabio Lione), and Luca Turilli's Rhapsody.
Created by Luca Turilli after his departure from Rhapsody Of Fire, the album considered by band as their own "Rhapsody's 11th album". Turilli likes to label his music as "Cinematic Metal" - a Rhapsody's legacy since the band (allegedly) invented "Hollywood Metal" in the 90s. And "Ascending To Infinity" is precisely that: Cinematic Metal. It starts with an introductory track featuring Electronica, a badass voice-over telling you to sit back and prepare to be amazed (like in any self-(dis)respecting awful movie trailer), and a choir singing random Latin verses. Wow! The self-titled track "Ascending to Destiny", "Dark Fate of Atlantis" and "Excalibur" are here to testify that we are unmistakably dealing here with a true Rhapsody album!! Huge piles of cheese, frantic guitar and keyboards sections (even bass in "Dark Fate of Atlantis"), exhilarating rhythm changes, and of course choirs, choirs, choirs, and then some more choirs!!! Grandiloquence, grandiose, grand-everything!!!! Haters gonna hate, lovers gonna explode!!!!!
Not everything is the traditional material you can expect from this band however. "Dante's Inferno" and especially "Tormento E Passione", both deliver darker vibes we are not accustomed to hear in Rhapsody efforts. This track offers whirls of piano keys, a beautiful man-woman duet and an outstanding finale in which the excellent vocalist Alessandro Conti (Trick Or Treat) truly shows his mastery. He also shines in "Luna" (Alessandro Safina cover), an almost smooth Jazz song very enjoyable but which also feels a bit out of place in this album.
But fear not, for the Hollywoodesque and catchy “Clash of the Titans quickly” puts the album right back on track, and the 16-minute long ending track "Of Michael the Archangel and Lucifer's Fall" concludes the experience with an epic tale divided in three chapters. Haters hate, lovers go boom!
It seems the 2011 split-up was the brightest idea for Rhapsody. Although "Ascending To Infinity" still lacks a bit of the catchiness and frenzy fans of the band may rightfully expect, it remains a rock-solid effort with very good moments and purely stellar musicianship!! Pretty good job!!!
It is the only album to feature Alex Holzwarth on drums, as he subsequently decided to focus on his duties in Rhapsody Of Fire.
Nuclear Blast GmbH/Soyuz Music, 2012 (NB 2857-2). Made in Russia. Used: very good.

1. Quantum X 2:27
2. Ascending To Infinity 6:15
3. Dante's Inferno 4:54
4. Excalibur 8:06
5. Tormento E Passione 4:53
6. Dark Fate Of Atlantis 6:29
7. Luna (Alessandro Safina cover) 4:13
8. Clash Of The Titans 4:13
9. Of Michael The Archangel And Lucifer's Fall 16:02
I. In Profundis
II. Fatum Mortalis
III. Ignis Divinus
Total playing time: 57:37 min.

Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products