Total Metal Shop

LONESHORE “From Presence to Silence” /CD/

    Band Info

  • Product Code: BMM. 084-18
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 9.90
  • € 7.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 79

< >

The debut full-length studio album by Brazilian Melodic Progressive Doom/Death Metal band.
What can a bunch of Brazilians that really like Death/Doom Metal in Opeth way? A lot!
It's impossible to examine the Loneshore sound without talking about Opeth, circa "Blackwater Park". Many melodies on the album reminds of the more accessible moments, like "The Drapery Falls" and "Bleak". This is not a carbon copy, though. The songwriting style is more Death/Doom Metal, being long, but without as many Progressive twists. Loneshore also plays quite rhythmical and aggressive at times, reminding of U.S. Death/Doom act Daylight Dies.
Vocally, it's a mix between competent growls and Opeth-inspired clean vocals. It's not extraordinary for the style, but the band certainly knows how to write songs. The highlight is probably the many emotional clean guitar sections. There is a lot of feeling in the playing, and the parts that have vocals over them match perfectly. These parts sound so beautiful that we can totally be willing to ignore how much they sound like Mikael Åkerfeldt.
Loneshore's Extreme Metal parts are also good, and the fact that they're willing to play fast at times adds some needed variation to their sound. Maybe the band's atmospheric side is stronger than the Metal side, but the band's appeal doesn't lie in one of them; it's the fact that they really know how to write good songs. The songs on the album have great flow and emotion, and they're fairly even in quality.
"From Presence To Silence" also has a solid mix; one of many things that doesn't make this album sound like the debut it is. You'll be really impressed by the overall professionality from such an unknown act. There's a notable attention to detail in everything from composition to playing and audio quality.
While Loneshore doesn't have the most original pool of influences, the band incorporates them well to create something different. This is one of the best Doom Metal albums from 2018, and the band probably has a bright future if they continue creating music like this. And..., a big extra plus for the amazing cover art!
BadMoodMan Music, 2018 (BMM. 084-18). First press.

1. The Quiet Visitor 11:07
2. Effigy 09:59
3. Winds of Ill Omen 08:30
4. Until the Last of Hopes 07:42
5. Daylight 06:01
6. From Presence to Silence 11:50
Total playing time: 55:11 min.


Leave a review

Please login or register to review