Total Metal Shop

HELIX “Bastard Of The Blues” /CD/

    Band Info

    Band: HELIX
  • Product Code: PER4912
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 11
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 10.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 109

< >

American release of the twelfth full-length studio album by Canadian Hard Rock/Heavy Metal band.
Five years have passed since we heard anything from the Ontario legends, five years later they come back with a monster of an album, “Bastard Of The Blues”!
The album starts with the title track “Bastard of the Blues”, a very energetic opening accompanied by the smooth vocal stylings of lead singer Brian Vollmer. The way he sings sounds as if he is preaching the song as an anthem to the newer generation of music lovers. The sound and quality of the song sounds as if the entire track is an anthem for those who are either being denied what they want or giving the new generation a taste of what this band has always been about. Without any doubt though it does the job and certainly it is indeed an anthem for those who want to punch the sky hard and scream with might. This is truly a song for the new ages and will surely be one of the band’s more anticipated songs for many a new crowd to chant along with.
The second track to follow, “Even Jesus (Wasn’t Loved In His Home Town)", compared to the first track is an old school credibility which reminds even the oldest Metal fan of strong bold riffs, that made you stand on your toes in anticipation. Now we can feel as the band are going back to their original formula, both in the quality of the lead vocals, and the originality of the guitar...
Helix have really created an astounding piece of musical art, not only is it original but it keeps to what Helix have been doing since they first started. Their songs always had that quality about them and this album is no exception. Helix represents a time when Rock music was fun. It's great to see some of the 80's acts still around and putting out solid material!
Helix have made the most comprehensive album in their career. An album that flies past all too quickly simply because there isn't a single dud on here. Helix can still most certainly Rock You!!
Perris Records, 2014 (PER4912). Made in USA. First press.

1. Bastard Of The Blues 
2. Even Jesus (Wasn't Loved In His Hometown) 
3. Winning Is The Best Revenge 
4. Screaming At The Moon 
5. Metal At Midnight 
6. Hellbound For A Heartbreak 
7. When All The Love Is Gone 
8. Axe To Grind 
9. Skin In The Game 
10. The Bitch Is A Bullet 
11. Sticks & Stones
Total playing time: 44:24

Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products

HELIX “The Power Of Rock And Roll” /CD/
HELIX “The Power Of Rock And Roll” /CD/

American release of the tenth full-length studio album by Canadian Hard Rock/Heavy Metal band. Helix has been a staple of the Canadian Hard Rock scene for over thirty years, playing every bar, tavern and drinking establishment in every corner of the Great White North. They really hit it big in the ..

€ 9.90