Total Metal Shop

DYLATH-LEEN “Cabale” /Digipack CD/

  • DYLATH-LEEN “Cabale” /Digipack CD/

    Band Info

  • Product Code: GOUDJ026
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 4
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 3.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 39

< >

Re-release of the third full-length album by French Atmospheric Death Metal band.
Great Dane Records seem to be getting started by signing a bunch of under-the-radar bands and reissuing their most recent albums in nice, slick new packages with some real promotion behind them. Dylath-Leen are hyped as "atmospheric" Death Metal, but this is pretty damned aggressive for that label. In this instance, "atmospheric" seems to mean they throw in some keyboards here and there. This album is mostly propulsive Death Metal riffing with a bit more melody that is standard. The vocals are iffy, as too often they slip over into a monotone scream that is a bit ‘coreish for my tastes.
"Cabale" follows the bands 2008 release "Semion" and whilst the wait has been far too long the result is well worth it.
From the opening track "Never Rising Sun" the tone is set for an all out assault on the senses with Kathy’s incredibly powerful vocals burning a hole straight between the listeners ears. However, the band don’t rely solely on the female vocal angle with guitarist Igor also sharing duties on many of the tracks, which adds a deeper more malevolent feel, none more so than on "Silent Land".
Categorising Dylath-Leens’s musical style is not easy. Whilst they do draw from the Extreme/Death Metal corner, they have the vision and talent to experiment and push the boundaries further than many other bands in that genre. Having said that, if you’re expecting ballads you will be disappointed, but if you want to listen to a refreshingly different band that based on this release are definitely on the way up then give this CD a go!
Great Dane Records, 2012 (GOUDJ026). Made in France. Pressed in Germany.

1. Never Rising Sun     04:30 
2. End of Time     03:28 
3. The Elder Sign     05:29 
4. I Dreamt     04:38 
5. Last Moments     04:31 
6. I'm the Crusher     05:00 
7. Silent Land     04:11 
8. Forever ...     03:00
9. ...Still     06:14 
10. Unveiled     04:43 
11. Where the Vision Led     05:54
Total playing time: 51:38

Leave a review

Please login or register to review