Total Metal Shop

DEVIAN “Ninewinged Serpent” /Slipcase CD/

    Band Info

    Band: DEVIAN
  • Product Code: 77725-0
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 10
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 9.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 99

< >

The debut full-length studio album by Swedish Melodic Death/Thrash/Black Metal band.
Including two ex-members of Marduk in line-up (lead singer Legion and drummer Emil Dragutinovic), it's a departure from Marduk, but not a radical departure. Marduk has a reputation for being a brutal, nasty, vicious sledgehammer of a Black Metal band; Devian is also a brutal, nasty, vicious sledgehammer of a Black Metal band, but with Thrashy riffs and more overtly mindful of Scandinavian Death Metal.
That Death Metal influence doesn't assert itself vocally; Legion's vocal style continues to be the sinister Death Metal rasp that Black Metal singers are known for, not the "Cookie Monster" growl of Death Metal. Rather, the Death Metal influence on "Ninewinged Serpent" is musical instead of vocal; the songs themselves are often structured in a way that allows for Death Metal-influenced guitar solos and a lot of Thrashiness.
Nonetheless, it would be inaccurate to describe this 56-minute CD as Blackened Death Metal. The term Blackened Death Metal refers to Extreme Metal that is essentially Death Metal yet incorporates Black Metal elements, but "Ninewinged Serpent" is the opposite - it is Black Metal with Death Metal elements (and Thrash Metal elements as well), not Death Metal with Black Metal elements. If "Ninewinged Serpent" contained Symphonic Black Metal, it would be accurate to describe it as a radical departure from Marduk (who never had any interest in playing Symphonic Black Metal). But again, this album is a departure from Marduk without being a radical one, and while "Ninewinged Serpent" isn't the least bit groundbreaking, it is still a decent post-Marduk outing for Legion and Dragutinovic.
Century Media Records, 2007 (77725-0). Made in Germany. First press.

01. Serenade For The Fallen 01:27
02. Dressed In Blood 05:07
03. Heresy 05:05
04. Scarred 03:50
05. Suffer The Fools 04:37
06. Fatalist 04:03
07. Gemini Is The Snake 06:35
08. Instigator 05:11
09. Remnant Song 04:13
10. Ninewinged Serpent 05:07
Bonus Tracks:
11. Burning Daylight 05:35
12. Jackal 05:05
Total playing time: 55:41 min.


Leave a review

Please login or register to review