Total Metal Shop

ASTARIUM “Wyrm Of Melancholy” /CD/

    Band Info

    Band: ASTARIUM
  • Product Code: METALLIC 010
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 3
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 2.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 29

< >

Official re-release of the third full-length album by the Russian Depressive/Symphonic Black Metal one man band.
Selfreleased before, now this 55-minute epic has more than enough depth to keep somebody engaged for almost an hour with this release.
Instead of taking the traditional instrumental intro, “Unrelieved Solitude” opens up with some very creepy whispers and screams accompanied by distorted guitars. The atmospheric synths are again overpowering and very nicely set a creepy vibe. Having more ‘time limit’ freedom, the songs in this release are slower to develop, but always having very interesting and melancholic passages, like on “Kingdom of White Madness” and the minimalistic instrumental “Voices from the Night Sky”.
“Farewell (Last Winter)” is one of our favorite tracks in this release thanks to its very dramatic atmosphere and emotional tempo changes. This track has a very intense Doom/Suicidal BM vibe that is very easily achieved by Astarium’s skills. After the interlude “Velleity About Aeonian Rain” we get another excellent song that starts with eerie wind sounds. The harsh vocals are quite fitting in the band’s sound and they greatly enhance the creepiness of the band’s music.
The album’s original closing track is the cavernous “When Humanity will Die…” - a very bleak song that starts with some intense droning sounds. This song evolves very slowly and allows the agony to be extended.
This version of the album has a bonus track titled “Permafrost”, which is a very upbeat and enjoyable cover of Krah.
“Wyrm Of Melancholy” is one hell of a release that will please any fan of this very engaging genre. If you like your music to be highly Atmospheric and have some BM-shrieks in it, look no further and get yourself a copy of this album!!
Metallic Media, 2012 (METALLIC 010). Made in USA.

1. Unrelieved Solitude 06:44
2. Kingdom of White Madness 06:25
3. Voices from the Night Sky 05:14
4. Farewell (Last Winter) 07:29
5. Revival of Cursed Spirit 06:53
6. Velleity About Aeonian Rain 03:07
7. Grief of the Fallen 06:19
8. When Humanity Will Die... 07:16
9. Permafrost (cover Krah) 05:34
Total playing time: 55:01


Leave a review

Please login or register to review