Total Metal Shop

ASOMVEL “Knucle Duster” /Slipcase CD/

    Band Info

    Band: ASOMVEL
  • Product Code: OMEN002CD
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 9
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 8.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 89

< >

The second full-length album by British Heavy Metal band.
Astonishingly, the fiery rampage of Asomvel’s Metal-Punk-Rock’n'Roll masterpiece "Knuckle Duster" marks 20 years since these British bruisers first started jamming on a pig farm with a load of Special Brew. Formed in 1993 by guitarist Lenny Robinson and bassist/vocalist Jay-Jay Winter, Asomvel’s first drummer was ex-Cathedral/Acid Reign man Mark Wharton, but “about ten” more came and went before the band recorded their first demo in 2001. After 2007′s "Full Moon Dog" 10″ the power trio managed to thrash out their raucous debut LP "Kamikaze" in 2009 to much acclaim, Asomvel firmly establishing themselves as underdog cult heroes of the UK Heavy Metal underground. Barely a year later, however, the band was shaken to its core when Jay-Jay Winter was killed in a road accident. Although a devastating tragedy, Lenny knew that the band had to continue in tribute to the determined spirit of their founding frontman.
With ex-Deathwing bassist/vocalist Conan onboard, Asomvel headlined their own inaugural Full Moon Dog Festival in Bradford in 2011 in honour of their fallen comrade, and have shared the stage with the likes of Carcass, Anvil and Orange Goblin.
When Will Palmer started up Bad Omen Records in 2013, his formative ambition was to coax a new album out of Asomvel, sending them into the studio with producer James ‘Atko’ Atkinson. "Knuckle Duster" is perhaps the band’s most vital and complete release to date.
The album kicks off with “Dead Set On Living”, a storm of drums and heavy guitar riffs, with a very British, very Traditional Metal sound. “Trash Talker” is a foot stomping, head banging romp while “Sheep In Wolf's Clothing” and “Cash Whore” both quicken the pace and rattle along at speed with some very good guitar work. Slowing the pace down to near Doom Metal tempo is “Waster”, a heavy riff driven song that chugs relentlessly to a conclusion. “Shoot Ya Down” is a classic traditional Heavy Metal song with title track “Knuckle Duster” sounding raw and aggressive. “Wrecking Ball” chugs by with an awesome guitar riff and the pace is upped as “Final Hour” flies by in a flurry of guitar and drums. The quickest (and shortest) song on the album is “Stranglehold” which has power and pace, as it hurtles by in just one minute forty eight seconds. Final song is “Hangman's Rope”, yet another example of everything that British Heavy Metal stands for.
Overall, traditional British Heavy Metal at its bombastic best! Thunderous drums and bass, blistering guitar solos and powerful vocals, all guaranteed to keep your head banging!!
Highly recommended for fans of Motörhead!!!
Bad Omen Records, 2013 (OMEN002CD). Made in UK. Pressed in Netherlands. First press.

1. Dead Set On Livin' 
2. Cash Whore 
3. Sheep In Wolf's Clothing 
4. Trash Talker 
5. Waster 
6. Shoot Ya Down 
7. Wrecking Ball 
8. Knuckle Duster 
9. Stranglehold 
10. Final Hour 
11. Hangman's Rope
Total playing time: 53:23

Leave a review

Please login or register to review