WERKRAUM “Early Love Music” /Digipack CD/

Third full-length album by Austrian Neo Folk, Folk Rock, Psychedelic Rock, Progressive Rock band.
14 Progressive & Traditional, Psychedelic & Medieval Folk songs. 14 dreamy memories of the merry blue days from early times together with friends of the bands Changes, Lady Morphia and Sturmpercht.
With "Early Love Music", the German Folk musician, Axel Frank, sets a surpassing milestone for a new generation of folk artists. A year after releasing his quite Martial/Neoclassical oriented debut on Cold Spring in 2004, Axel started to play the strings and flutes for Sturmpercht. Being heavily involved in composing several great folksongs for Sturmpercht, Axel got "infected" by Max Percht (Sturmpercht) and found his love in late 60s/early 70s Psychedelic and Progressive Folk music. In late 2005 he released his folk music debut "Kristalle", which found amazing approval from the audience and from many reviewers all over the planet.
"Early Love Music" is not just a Folk album. It is a quantum leap for the new Folk generation of the third millennium and an enhanced assortment of early and new Folk styles. Progressive and Psychedelic Folksongs mix and alternate with British and German Traditionals in the vein of early Donovan (HMS), Spirogyra, Shirley Collins, Mellow Candle, Ougenweide... Some songs even have a songwriter-like character, as if they were played in the mid 60s in a dark Britanny forest by a suicidal Jackson C. Frank or Shawn Phillips. The complex arrangements and large variety of instruments even remind one of The Incredible String Band and some early Acid Folk bands.
"Early Love Music" brings 2 cover versions, of Donovan's ingenious fairytale "Jabberwocky" and Steeleye Span's hit "The Blacksmith". With "Song for Erik" Nicholas and Axel have created the saddest song ever sung, filling every father's eyes with a lake of tears.
Recorded 2007 & 2008 at Blue Lounge Studios, Berlin, Absinthe Studio Denver (Colorado, USA) and The Surgery (UK).
CD comes in 6-side highgloss gatefold digipack and 16 side booklet including all lyrics and band pictures.
Ahnstern, 2008 (Ahnstern23). Made in Germany. First press.

1. Beware The Jabberwock!     2:40 
2. La Marmotte     5:51 
3. Ein Lied Von Lieb Und Treu     4:13 
4. Santy Ano     3:25 
5. Slafest Du, Vriedel Ziere?     4:08 
6. Song For Erik     10:51 
7. The Dream     3:19 
8. Allgemach     2:38 
9. Der Schmied     3:45 
10. Beyond The Evening Star     4:35 
11. The Smiling Of The Rose     4:35 
12. Une Jeune Fillette     3:23 
13. Die Rechte Braut     3:11 
14. Sanctity And Steel     4:56
Total playing time: 61:30

Leave a review

Please login or register to review