Total Metal Shop

VENOM “At War With Satan” /CD/

    Band Info

    Band: VENOM
  • Product Code: CMRCD473
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 12
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 11.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 119

< >

Second re-release of the third full-length album by the legendary British Heavy/Black/Speed Metal band.
A semi-concept album that tells the story of a war between Heaven and Hell where the latter side wins. Shortly after it reached the stores the HMV record chain withdrew the album from their shelves due to its anti-Christian content.
Though neither of their first two albums had sold in very large quantities (even by Heavy Metal standards), by 1983 Venom had become simply impossible to ignore. To be sure, their exceedingly Satanic posturing wasn't nearly as shocking as it was cartoonish, and their impenetrable dirge of embryonic Black Metal was known to clear rooms faster than a fire alarm, but somehow, these qualities only helped fuel the metal community's interest in the band. At the time, even their most promising New Wave Of British Heavy Metal contemporaries (Iron Maiden, Def Leppard, etc.) were still struggling to break out of the strictest Metal circles, but what they had, and what Venom craved above all else, was some measure of respect from the media, most of whom still viewed them as a trio of buffoons. So when it came time to record their third album, "At War With Satan", the band took desperate measures to try and validate both their technical ability as musicians and their songwriting capabilities. Their folly gave birth to the album's bloated magnum opus of a title track - a twenty-minute concept piece/sonic ordeal taking up the album's entire first half and dedicated to the lord of darkness himself.
Needless to say, Venom were simply not equipped to pull off this feat and much of "At War with Satan" is decidedly crap; and what memorable moments do crop up, are almost always neutralized by the track's massive, confusing girth. But once they got past this ill-advised anomaly, the band got back to what they did best: furiously compact two and three minute scorchers. Although they'd already squandered most of their inspiration on albums one and two, Venom's dwindling creative reserves still yielded a few very strong cuts here, most notably the blistering "Rip Ride", the vicious "Genocide" and the all-inclusive "Women, Leather and Hell". And when there's simply nothing left to say, Venom say it better than most, closing the album with the immortal relic "Aaaaaaarrghh" (possibly the funniest song ever recorded).
As with other Sanctuary/Neat re-issues, the 2002 version of "At War With Satan" is simply stellar, containing informative liner notes, rare photos and eight bonus tracks! Many of these singles ("Warhead," "Manitou") are actually better than songs that made the album, elevating "At War With Satan" 's overall grade quite a bit from its original configuration!!
Neat Records/Castle Music/Sanctuary Records, 1984/2002 (CMRCD473). Made in England. Pressed in Germany.

1. At War With Satan 19:57
2. Rip Ride 3:08
3. Genocide 2:58
4. Cry Wolf 4:19
5. Stand Up (And Be Counted) 3:31
6. Women, Leather And Hell 3:21
7. Aaaaaaarrghh 2:23
Bonus Tracks:
8. At War With Satan (TV Adverts) 1:04
9. Warhead (12" Version) 3:40
10. Lady Lust (12" Version) 2:48
11. The Seven Gates Of Hell (12" Version) 5:28
12. Manitou (12" Version) 4:42
13. Woman (12" Version) 2:56
14. Dead Of Night (12" Version) 4:09
15. Manitou (Abbey Road Uncut Mix) 4:49
Total playing time: 69:13


Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products

VENOM "Logo" /Patch/
VENOM "Logo" /Patch/

Embroidered bordered woven patch. 110x60mm ..

€ 0.90

VENOM “The 7th Date Of Hell - Live At Hammersmith Odeon 1984” /LP; Live/
VENOM “The 7th Date Of Hell - Live At Hammersmith Odeon 1984” /LP; Live/

First time officially released the very first live album by the legendary British Heavy/Black/Speed Metal band. One of the most legendary shows in the history of Metal now available on deluxe vinyl format! Blistering live performance by Black Metal pioneers, recorded in 1984 at Hammersmith Odeon, ..

€ 22.90

MPIRE OF EVIL “Hell To The Holy” /Digipack CD/
MPIRE OF EVIL “Hell To The Holy” /Digipack CD/

The debut full-length studio album by British Thrash Metal band. Mpire Of Evil is a band composed of former Venom members, the most notable of which is Jeff “Mantas” Dunn, Venom’s founding guitarist, who has been off the Metal radar since leaving that band over a decade ago. Filli..

€ 10.90