Total Metal Shop


  • TYPE O NEGATIVE “Dead Again” /CD/

    Band Info

  • Product Code: SPV 99192 CD
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 11
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 10.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 109

< >

The seventh and the last full-length studio album by the legendary American Gothic/Doom Metal band.
Album was released before the death of frontman Peter Steele.
The band uses studio drums instead of a drum machine for the first time since their third album, "Bloody Kisses". Thus, it remains the only Type O Negative studio album with Johnny Kelly's actual playing, as he was only "credited" as the drummer on the three albums prior to "Dead Again".
The cover photo is a portrayal of Grigori Rasputin, the Russian mystic and associate of Tsar Nicholas II. The photograph on the back was taken in 1906, showing four young women of the Tsarist family, identified left to right as Grand Duchesses Olga, Tatiana, Maria and Anastasia Nikolaevna. The lettering is in a faux-Cyrillic font.
Reception for this album was quite positive among fans and critics and received the highest chart position for the band yet.
Unbelievably heavy Sludge riffs are still a main ingredient, as well as singer Pete Steele's ongoing "Kill me, I'm in agony" lyrics, and vocals that sometimes sound quite Bela Lugosi-esque. The album-opening title track may very well be the most melodic song the band has ever recorded, but the Type O Negative we all know and love is lurking right around the bend, especially on such tracks as "The Profits of Doom" (the album's original working title), "She Burned Me Down," and "An Ode to Locksmiths," the latter of which contains a guitar riff so Tony Iommi-esque that it sounds straight off of "Sabbath Bloody Sabbath".
With "Dead Again", Type O Negative delivers another album of dark tales and even darker riffs, and will reassure morose metalheads that they can still count on Steele to spread the misery!
Bonus DVD features 30 min. "Live At Wacken Open Air 2007", two music videos and 15 min. interview with the band!!
Steamhammer/SPV, 2007 (SPV 99192 CD). Made in Germany. First press.

1. Dead Again     4:15
2. Tripping A Blind Man     7:05
3. The Profits Of Doom     10:47
4. September Sun     9:47
5. Halloween In Heaven     4:50
6. These Three Things     14:21
7. She Burned Me Down     7:54
8. Some Stupid Tomorrow     4:21
9. An Ode To Locksmiths     5:15
10. Hail And Farewell To Britian     8:56
Total playing time: 77:33

Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products

TYPE O NEGATIVE “The Complete Roadrunner Collection 1991 – 2003” /6CD Box Set/
TYPE O NEGATIVE “The Complete Roadrunner Collection 1991 – 2003” /6CD Box Set/

Roadrunner Records celebrates the legacies of some of most revered artists by releasing multi-disc boxsets, each including every album the band recorded for Roadrunner. Sets, feature each album in an individual CD paper-sleeve with original artwork, housed in a clamshell box. The albums are neatly p..

€ 29.90

TYPE O NEGATIVE "Bloody Kisses" /CD/
TYPE O NEGATIVE "Bloody Kisses" /CD/

Third full-length studio album by the legendary American Gothic/Doom Metal band. This album combines melancholy beauty, found in songs such as “Christian Woman”, common Metal brutality, found in songs such as “Too Late: Frozen”, and even Hardcore influenced craziness found i..

€ 8.90