TRIVIUM “Vengeance Falls” /GLP/

  • €21.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 219

< >

The sixth full-length album by the cult American Metalcore band.
With this album, Trivium opted to go for a more direct, stripped down approach. Some people find David Draiman’s influence on the album to be disturbing (that pun was worth it), however, the big picture is Draiman did a damn good job with the production of this album and he really helped Matt Heafy improve his vocals and as a result, there is more singing on this record than the previous Trivium records.
The actual album aims to appeal to a wider range of people, yet it’s not a sellout by any means. Trivium is a risk-taking band; they experiment with their sound and deliver a unique experience with each new album. People complain that this one sounds strangely like Disturbed meets Trivium, but in real it does have a more Alternative Metal approach in some of the riffing, but at the core of the sound, it’s still 100% Trivium. Tracks like “Strife” and “No Way to Heal” are classic Trivium songs all the way while “Brave This Storm” and the title track have that Alternative Metal vibe mixed in with Trivium’s sound.
Leads and solos are very well done and very effective. In fact, “Strife” and “No Way to Heal” have some killer lead guitar parts and feature some of the album’s best solos. “Wake” is a great ending to the album and showcases Matt’s lower vocal range. That being said there are some fantastic standout tracks to be found here. “Strife” is a fantastic song and it’s amazing live! “No Way to Heal” is the heaviest song on the record by far and would be a great live song. “Wake (The End is Nigh)” is an amazing closer and it shows musical growth for the band.
The riffs may not be as complex as they once were and Matt may not be screaming as much as before, but everything that made it onto this record is strong, quality material. And while this does sound like Trivium meets Disturbed, everything on this record is still way more complex than Disturbed has ever been. If you enjoyed "In Waves", then you’ll likely enjoy this album!
It is the last album to feature second drummer Nick Augusto before he had departed from the band in May 2014.
The album debuted at No. 27 on the Billboard 200 albums chart on its release, selling 15 000 copies in the United States in its first week. It also debuted at No. 6 on Billboard's Top Rock Albums, and No. 2 on Hard Rock Albums. The album has sold 69 000 copies in the United States as of September 2015.
Roadrunner Records/Cargo Records, 2013 (RRCAR 7601-1). Made in Germany. First press. 180g black gatefold vinyl.


Side A:
1. Brave This Storm 4:30 
2. Vengeance Falls 4:14 
3. Strife 4:29 
4. No Way To Heal 4:06 
5. To Believe 4:33

Side B: 
6. At The End Of This War 4:48 
7. Through Blood And Dirt And Bone 4:26 
8. Villainy Thrives 4:55 
9. Incineration: The Broken World 5:52 
10. Wake [The End Is Nigh] 5:58

Total playing time: 47:51

Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products

TRIVIUM “Silence In The Snow” /GLP/

The seventh full-length studio album by American Metalcore/Heavy/Thrash Metal band. It is the first and only album to feature third drummer Mat Madiro, who joined the band in May 2014 and before he had departed from the band in December 2015. It is also the band's only album to date to not feat..