THE POLICE “Outlandos d’ Amour” /LP/

  • €20.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 209

< >

The debut full-length album by legendary British Post-Punk/New Wave/Reggae Rock band.
The roots of "Outlandos d'Amour" were laid in early 1978 when The Police checked into Surrey Sound Studios to record a few tracks. Recorded in chunks over a six-month period, "Outlandos" was released in November 1978 and featured at least three classic Police songs in the shape of "Roxanne", "Can't Stand Losing You" and "So Lonely", each of which were released and re-released as singles.
Whilst 1978 may have been the era of late Punk, The Police's debut was an album that was truly different from what was the then mainstream. There's a lot to listen to in this 10 cut debut from one of the New Wave's more listenable trios, including the Reggae-tinged lead cut, "Roxanne", which deals with prostitution in a poignant way. There was nothing on the airwaves like "Roxanne". The music is straight forward Rock for the most part, with low key melodies supporting strong lyrics and a definite beat.
The album was particularly well received in the States with the Los Angeles Times describing it as 'the most inviting mainstream Rock debut since the Cars' LP last summer' and persistent no-frills gigging around the country meant that within six months, the band had built up a sufficiently strong following to play the 3000 seater Santa Monica Civic Theater. When the band returned for a headlining tour of the UK in Spring 1979, the re-released "Roxanne" had made the top 20, and the Police had become a force to be reckoned with.
Although “Outlandos d'Amour” received mixed reviews upon its release, it has since been regarded as one of the strongest debut albums by any band or artist. Elevated by the success of its lead single, "Roxanne", "Outlandos d'Amour" peaked at No. 6 on the UK Albums Chart and at No. 23 in the US. It has since been certified Platinum by the RIAA for sales of over one million units in the US. The album ranked No. 38 on Rolling Stone Magazine's list of "100 Best Debut Albums of All Time". In 2012, the magazine ranked it No. 428 on their list of the "500 Greatest Albums of All Time".
Recommended for fans of Cars and all New Wave lovers in general!
A&M Records, 1978/2009/2014 (0082839475310). Made in EU. 180 g vinyl. Includes voucher to download MP3 version of the album.


1. Next To You 2:51 
2. So Lonely 4:48 
3. Roxanne 3:13 
4. Hole In My Live 4:48 
5. Peanuts 3:54

6. Can't Stand Losing You 3:02 
7. Truth Hits Everybody 2:53 
8. Born In The 50's 3:42 
9. Be My Girl - Sally 3:24 
10. Masoko Tanga 5:41

Total playing time: 38:16 min.​​​​​​​


Leave a review

Please login or register to review