THE MICHAEL SCHENKER GROUP “The 30th Anniversary Concert – Live In Tokyo” /2LP/

First time on vinyl, the eleventh live album by legendary German Hard Rock band.
Recorded January 13th, 2010 at Nakano Sun Plaza, Tokyo, this album captures one of the great moments in Rock music history, when world-class guitarist Michael Schenker gave the all-clear to start the tour to commemorate the 30th anniversary of his pioneering band MSG. He managed to gather practically all of the original lineup from 1980 for his mimorable show. The five supreme professionals celebrated a fantastic Rock festival with legendary songs, catchy riffs and furious solos and Michael Schenker proved to be in truly peak form.
It's probably widely agreed amongst Michael Schenker's faithful following that the best singer he's ever worked with in MSG (and the one that fit his guitar-Heavy Rock the best) was Gary Barden, the same gentleman that sang on such early solo Schenker classics as "The Michael Schenker Group", "MSG", and "One Night At Budokan", among others. Splitting from MSG during the mid-'80s, Barden was back where he belonged shortly after the dawn of the early 21st century: fronting MSG once more in the studio and on the concert stage. And live, the band sounded as powerful and vibrant as ever, as evidenced by the 2010 2CD set, "30th Anniversary Concert - Live In Tokyo".
With a top-notch backing band (including such renowned Hard Rock names as Neil Murray on bass and Simon Phillips on drums), Schenker and Barden pick up exactly where they left off, handing in fine renditions of such early MSG classics as "Armed and Ready", "Cry for the Nations" and "Attack of the Mad Axeman". You'll also find Schenker's strongest instrumental composition, "Into the Arena", as well as a few UFO-era nuggets, including "Rock Bottom" and "Doctor Doctor".
With so many live Schenker titles issued over the years, you never really know exactly what lies in store with each one. But right from the start, it's clear that Live in Tokyo is one Schenker live album that gets it right!
in-akustik GmbH &Co. KG, 2010/2014 (INAK 90981 2LP). Made in Germany. First press. 180 g vinyl audiophile pressing. DMM direct cut from 24/48 Hi-Res Master.


Side 1
1. Welcome Howl 2:04
2. Feels Like A Good Thing 3:44
3. Cry For The Nations 5:50
4. Let Sleeping Dogs Lie 6:58
5. Armed And Ready 4:24

Side 2
1. I Want You 4:03
2. A Night To Remember 4:13
3. Into The Arena 4:20
4. Lost Horizons 9:52

Side 3
1. Rock My Nights Away 4:42
2. On And On 5:38
3. Attack Of The Mad Axeman 5:09
4. Ride On My Way 4:31

Side 4
1. Rock Bottom 11:36
2. Dance Lady Gipsy 4:29
3. Doctor Doctor 5:45

Total playing time: 87:18 min.


Leave a review

Please login or register to review