THE CURE “The Head On The Door” /LP/

  • €20.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 209

< >

The sixth full-length studio album by legendary British Alternative Rock/New Wave/Synth-Pop band.
After recording one of their darkest albums, 1984's "The Top", The Cure regrouped and shuffled their lineup, which changed their musical direction rather radically. While the band always had a Pop element in their sound and even recorded one of the lightest songs of the '80s, "The Lovecats", "The Head On The Door" is where they become a hitmaking machine. Preceded by the Single "In Between Days" which had reached No. 15 on the UK Singles Chart, "The Head On The Door" was described by Melody Maker as "a collection of Pop songs". The shiny, sleek production and laser-sharp melodies of "Inbetween Days" and "Close to Me" helped them become modern Rock Radio staples and the inspired videos had them in heavy rotation on MTV. With its variety of styles, it allowed the band to reach a wider audience in both Europe and North America. In the United Kingdom, it became their most successful album to date, entering the albums chart at No. 7.
The album is the first to feature drummer Boris Williams. Bassist Simon Gallup, who had previously worked on three major Cure albums of the early 1980s, was called back before the recording. In 1985, the band became a quintet with instrumentalist Porl Thompson as their fifth official member. "The Head On The Door" is the first Cure album where all the songs were composed solely by singer and guitarist Robert Smith.
With "The Head On The Door", Robert Smith figured out how to make gloom and doom danceable and popular to both Alternative and Mainstream Rock audiences. It was a feat the band managed to pull off for many years afterward, but never as concisely or as impressively as they did here!!
"The Head On The Door" was the first big international success for the band, notably entering the top 75 in the US and reaching the top 20 in numerous other countries. PopMatters included it in their list of the "12 Essential 1980s Alternative Rock Albums". The album is certified Gold in the US, UK and France.
Remastered re-release on 180g vinyl includes inner sleeve with printed lyrics and voucher to download MP3 version of the album.
Fiction Records/Universal Music Group, 1985/2008 (0042282723116). Made in EU. 


Side One
1. In Between Days 2:55
2. Kyoto Song 4:00
3. The Blood 3:42
4. Six Different Ways 3:16
5. Push 4:28

Side Two
1. The Baby Screams 3:43
2. Close To Me 3:23
3. A Night Like This 4:12
4. Screw 2:35
5. Sinking 4:50


Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products

THE CURE "Show" /2CD; Live/

6th live album from famous Dark Wave/Gothic/New Wave band from UK. Fiction Records, 1993 (fixcd 25/519 951-2). Made in Germany. First press.  Used: good. Tracklist: CD 1 1.Tape 02:25 2.Open 07:19 3.High 03:31 4.Pictures Of You 07:38 5.Lullaby 04:25 6.Just Like Heaven 03:37 7.Fas..



THE CURE "Wild Mood Swings" /CD/

12th studio album by famous Dark Wave/Gothic band from UK. Fiction Records, 1996 (FIXCD 28 5317932). Made in Germany. First press. Used: very good. Tracklist: 1.Want 05:07 2.Club America 05:01 3.This Is A Lie 04:29 4.The 13th 04:08 5.Strange Attraction 04:19 6.Mint Car 03:32 7.Jupiter C..



THE CURE "Bloodflowers" /CD/

The 12th full-length album by English Dark Wave/Gothic legend, considered by many Cure fans to be a return to the band's roots after the stylistic departure of “Wild Mood Swings”. “Bloodflowers” is the third and final album in Robert Smith's "trilogy" of the..