Total Metal Shop

SAVATAGE “Poets And Madmen” /CD/

    Band Info

    Band: SAVATAGE
  • Product Code: SPV 085-74062 CD
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 13
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 12.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 129

< >

The eleventh full-length album by the legendary American Heavy/Power/Progressive Metal/Rock band.
It is the only Savatage album to not feature a title song from the album, although the title was taken from lyrics to the track "Symmetry" from the band's 1994 album, "Handful Of Rain". The album was the first since "Streets: A Rock Opera" in 1991 to feature the band's original vocalist Jon Oliva on lead vocals for all songs after the amicable departure of Zachary Stevens. It is also the first Savatage album to have guitarist Chris Caffery playing the majority of the guitar solos. This is partly due to the departure of Al Pitrelli, who left to join Megadeth prior to the album's release. However, Pitrelli was credited with the outro of "Stay With Me Awhile", the main solo of "Morphine Child", the main solo of "The Rumor" and the first part of the main solo and the outro of "Commissar".
"Poets And Madmen", Savatage's fourth concept album, finds the band continuing to write grand Metal pieces with changing time signatures and effective transitions between quiet and loud sections. However, with the return of Jon Oliva as vocalist and the departure of guitarist Al Pitrelli, the band's sound continues to evolve and change. While the years have seen Oliva's vocal range decrease, his snarling style of talk-singing is thankfully still present and is reminiscent of his work with Doctor Butcher. With Chris Caffery, the sole guitarist in the band, the band sounds leaner and yet ironically heavier than on their previous records. Oliva's limited vocal range also has put the focus more on rhythm and churning guitar riffs than melody. However, that does not mean the vocal lines are dull. In the ten-minute "Morphine Child", massive vocal harmonies fuse together Heavy Metal and cabaret musical influences that take some of the experiments the band has done before to the next level. "The Rumor", meanwhile, features the most prominent use of acoustic guitar on a Savatage album for years and finds the band moving back and forth between Folk and Heavy metal. While "Man in the Mirror" and "Awaken" sound more like streets-era Savatage, the closing ballad, "Back to Reason", admirably moves away from the admittedly moving but redundant Power ballad formula the band had been repeating for quite some time.
It's good to see Savatage still keeping their wheels turning and making quality music!!
Steamhammer/SPV, 2001 (SPV 085-74062 CD). Made in Germany. First press.

1. Stay with Me Awhile     05:06 
2. There in the Silence     04:57 
3. Commissar     05:36
4. I Seek Power     06:03
5. Drive     03:17
6. Morphine Child     10:12
7. The Rumor     05:16 
8. Man in the Mirror     05:56
9. Surrender     06:40
10. Awaken     03:23
11. Back to Reason     06:10
Total playing time: 62:40

Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products

SAVATAGE “Edge Of Thorns” /CD/
SAVATAGE “Edge Of Thorns” /CD/

Third re-release of the seventh full-length studio album by legendary American Heavy/Power/Progressive Metal/Rock band. The last album to contain the talents of guitarist Criss Oliva, who died six months after its release, and the first Savatage album to feature Zachary Stevens (former singer of Wi..

€ 12.90

SAVATAGE “Gutter Ballet” /Digipack CD/
SAVATAGE “Gutter Ballet” /Digipack CD/

Third re-release of the fifth full-length studio album by legendary American Heavy/Power/Progressive Metal/Rock band. "Gutter Ballet" marked the transition between Savatage's earlier, straightforward, fantasy-themed Metal and the more Progressive direction the band took in the 1990s. ..

€ 12.90