OPERA IX “Black Opera: Symphoniae Mysteriorum In Laudem Tenebrarum” /Super Jewel Box CD/

Remastered re-release of the third full-length album by Italian Occult Symphonic Black Metal band.
Except from Cradle of Filth´s "Midian" this is probably the best Black Metal release of the year! The Opera IX sound is also a little similar to that of Cradle with powerful keyboard arrangements and heavy guitar riffing à la Iron Maiden. What makes Opera IX special and even better is that they have a female vocalist called Cadaveria. She has a great voice and also looks very good. She uses both raspy clean vocals as well as traditional Black Metal screeching and sounds a lot better than most male such. Unfortunately this is the last album to feature Cadaveria on vocals due to her departure from the band.
Except from Cadaveria the band also includes Ossian (guitars), Vlad (bass), Flegias (drums) and Lunaris (keyboards) who seem to be talented and innovative musicians.
Compared to previous albums this album embraced the more symphonic elements and mixture of clear and growled vocals. The band also played shorter length songs compared to the ones on the previous releases. The album consists of six of the band´s own creations that tell a story about an occult journey of a spiritual warrior with magic rituals. The final seventh song on the album is a cover version of a Bauhaus title that was made for a vampire show. "The Black Opera" was recorded and mixed at Studio Underground, Sweden.
This Black opera is really a dark masterpiece!!
Peaceville Records, 2000/2009 (CDVILED227). Made in UK.

1. Act I The First Seal     9:39 
2. Act II Beyond The Black Diamond Gates     7:14 
3. Act III Carnal Delight In The Vortex Of Evil     6:13 
4. Act IV Congressus Cum Daemone     10:24 
5. Act V The Magic Temple     4:16 
6. Act VI The Sixth Seal     7:50 
7. Bela Lugosi's Dead     5:28
Total playing time: 51:04

Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products

OPERA IX “Call Of The Wood” /Super Jewel Box CD/

Second remastered re-release of the debut full-length album by Italian Occult Black Metal band. Opera IX was always more than a straight-forward Black Metal band, mixing elements of Doom & Death Metal with symphonic elements. Their second demo from 1992 showed amazing progress, revealed their n..