Total Metal Shop

NIGHT IN GALES “Towards The Twilight” + “Sylphlike” /Digipack CD/

    Band Info

  • Product Code: MASS CD 1205 DG
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 16
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 15.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 159

< >

Remastered re-release of the debut full-length and debut mini- albums, on one CD, by the cult German Melodic Death Metal band.
Band's style could be easily described as Melodic Swedish Death Metal a-la In Flames and Dark Tranquility. Everything in this album just screams of the famous Gothenburg style that has recently replaced the old Swedish standard of playing Brutal Death Metal with its more refined version. Ultra-melodic hooks combined with sped-up twin guitar harmonies. Highly melodic and offering some galloping rhythms throughout the album, it bears a strong resemblance to what the Swedes have been doing for the last 2 years. However, this album also bears a lot of resemblance to what bands like Dark Funeral are doing. Thus, there is more to what Night In Gales are doing. Aggression is definitely there, and even when the music gets too much into the "being too musical for its own sake" territory, they find their way out rather quickly. The same time there is a lot of NWOBHM influences.
This makes the CD an enjoyable piece of work from an aesthetic point of view. The lyrics here are very intelligent, obviously being influenced by some classic poetry from the past centuries including Lord Byron and such. All together, the music does deliver this feeling of the dying beauty of a twilight world the band has dreamt of as the title suggests.
A decent melodic album, indeed, which is solid piece of Metal!
Originally “Sylphlike” MCD was selfreleased by band in 1995 and re-released by Eigenproduktion the same year. “Towards The Twilight” CD  and LP was released by Nuclear Blast Records in 1997.
This is digitally 24-Bit remastered re-edition on 24kt Gold CD!
Metal Mind Productions, 1995/1997/2008 (MASS CD 1205 DG). Made in Poland.

1. Towards A Twilight Kiss     4:16 
2. Of Beauty's Embrace     4:20 
3. Razor     3:16 
4. From Ebony Skies     2:26 
5. Autumn Water     3:53 
6. Slavesun     4:54 
7. Through Ashen Meadows     5:06 
8. Avoid Secret Vanity     5:19 
9. Tragedians     4:11 
Bonus Tracks taken from Sylphlike, EP 1996:
10. Bleed Afresh     4:42    
11. Sylphlike     3:11 
12. Avoid Secret Vanity     5:14 
13. Mindspaw     2:42     
14. When The Lightning Starts     1:39
15. Flowing Spring     2:50
Total playing time: 57:59 min.

Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products

NIGHT IN GALES "Necrodynamic" /CD/
NIGHT IN GALES "Necrodynamic" /CD/

4th full-length album by German Melodic Death/Thrash Metal band. “Necrodynamic” rings with a rotten tone but still adds melodies and grooves on top of the furious pace resulting in a mix of old ENTOMBED and SLAYER... The core is still Thrash/Death Metal with mainstream sounding choruses..

€ 4.90

NIGHT IN GALES "Nailwork" /CD/
NIGHT IN GALES "Nailwork" /CD/

The third full-length album by the German Melodic Death/Thrash Metal band. With their third album, Night In Gales are now charging towards spearheading the international Thrash and Death Metal scene. In topping all the previous releases from the 5 metalheads, "Nailwork" has achieved that..

€ 4.90