TORMENTRESS "Operation Torment" /CD/

The debut full-length album by Singaporean Thrash Metal band.
Old-school all-female band in vein of Sodom, early Kreator, and early Sepultura! Raw, harsh, fast, no frills!!
Active since 2006, now in 2014 we get their debut album that crosses a lot of Punk/Hardcore ethics with a savage Thrash style that is more European based than Bay Area oriented. Kreator, Sodom and others in that raw, mid 80’s Thrash mold come up frequently when taking in songs such as “Seven Feet Under”, the “Raining Blood” – like “Denied” or Crossover quickie “Materialistic War”. Neezie as a vocalist is not going to hit any Operatic or serene singing elements – her voice is very brutal, savage, and in line with the musical template her fellow musicians portray. The vocals are more along the lines of Max Cavalera‘s on Sepultura’s "Bestial Devastation" EP rather than later albums – quite guttural. Alongside a smattering of fairly predictable, though enjoyable, songs are a couple of absolute pearls: “Trash & Torment”, “Infinite Oneness”, “Why” and cover of Kreator’s “Tormentor” is a great homage to the original.
If you can’t get enough of Crossover Thrash, this could be a decent pick up. If there weren’t enough quality Thrash albums produced in the 80’s for you, then this will help make up the numbers!!
Infernö Records, 2014 (IR024CD). Made in France. First press.

1. Intro 1:02
2. Denied 2:10
3. Mutilator 2:52
4. Thrash & Torment 4:43
5. The Great Oppression 3:19
6. Seven Feet Under 2:07
7. Infinite Oneness 2:28
8. Dead At 27 2:50
9. No Remorse 3:46
10. Materialistic War 2:10
11. Why 3:31
12. Tormentor (cover Kreator) 3:15
Total playing time: 34:13


Write a review

Please login or register to review