STINGER (Can) “Manic Depressor” /CD/

Debut full-length album by Canadian Heavy Metal band.
It's amazing when local underground bands creating and writing new original material and not just slogging it out on the local bar scene doing covers. To create an independent debut album takes time, hard-work and commitment, characteristics that are sometimes hard to come by, let alone trying to pay for the thing. It’s guys like Stinger that keep the scene going.
Take a heavy dose of Iron Maiden and Judas Priest, mix it with the vocals of Chuck Billy during "Practice What You Preach", inject it with a Heavy 90s atmosphere, throw in a bit of Thrash, and shove some classic solos up its ass. And what you get is Stinger’s debut masterpiece, "Manic Depressor"!
The well-produced, eleven cuts span just under an hour of good time head-banging fun. Musically, Stinger spans a number of sounds with ease and proficiency. It’s not just a retro sound but the tone is a bit more modern at times. All those dissimilar styles blend nicely into something quite unique. There are a few slower moments, like the middle section of "Harmantra" that bleeds into some excellent soloing. Literally every single track is a magnificent example of excellent songwriting, tight musicianship and fantastic awesomeness.
This is a confident, mature debut album that will turn a few heads.  This is really masterpiece! If you’re a fan of good music, you won’t regret it!!
Selfreleased, 2011. Made in Canada. First press.

1. Time to Die     03:01 
2. Manic Depressor     04:13 
3. Hellbent     04:01 
4. Harmantra     04:17 
5. Going Down     05:16 
6. Outlive the Outlaw     05:02 
7. 12 Years     07:21 
8. Dream Revolver     04:59 
9. Hot Rockin'     04:12 
10. Black Snake Kiss     04:48 
11. Lucid Screams     06:10
Total playing time: 53:20



Write a review

Please login or register to review