SADUS “Out For Blood” /CD/

The fifth full-length album by the legendary American Thrash Metal band.
Quite possibly the only Thrash band whose audience consists primarily of bass players, Sadus will likely carry on re-forming every decade or so to record albums like 2006's "Out For Blood" (their first in nine years); just as long as four-string colossus Steve DiGiorgio can still pluck the dickens out of his generally overlooked instrument. Standard, five-string, fretless, heck, neck-less, you name it - he can play it, and he does so at a higher level than most anyone ever has in Extreme Metal. The point of all this discourse being that, although "Out For Blood" features virtually the same "classic" line-up (minus second guitarist Rob Moore) that recorded Sadus' influential early albums, one would be silly not to recognize that this is now, unquestionably, the Steve DiGiorgio show. Hear the dazzling flurries of bass notes driving most every composition, including the hyperactive "Crazy" and frenzied title cut; behold the Eastern-sounding bass melodies prefacing "Smackdown"; and, perhaps most telling of DiGiorgio's role of maximum authority, check out the unexpected displays of his newfound synthesizer hobby. Not that there's anything wrong with the added dimension this brings to tracks like "No More" and "Lost It All," but original fans will be grateful to find they can still count on more traditional post-Thrash Sadus fare such as "In the Name Of..." and the brilliantly vicious "Sick". To that end, vocalist/guitarist Darren Travis and drummer Jon Allen consistently come up with the goods; matching their own, not inconsiderable talents, with those of their all-star bass player so that all three can still operate in remarkably technical lockstep throughout a pair of multifaceted epics, "Freedom" and "Cursed".
This is a good comeback album for Sadus and a decent old school Thrash release for 2006!
Mascot Records, 2006 (M 7173 2). Made in USA. First press.

1. In The Name Of...     6:09 
2. No More     4:51 
3. Smackdown     4:43
4. Out For Blood     4:38 
5. Lost It All     4:39 
6. Sick     3:39 
7. Down     3:16 
8. Freedom     6:57 
9. Freak     2:56 
10. Cursed     8:10 
11. Crazy     5:41 
Including bonus video:
Behind The Scenes, Making Of "Out For Blood"     12:17
Total playing time: 67:56

Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products