RAVEN “Nothing Exceeds, Like Excess” /CD/

Remastered re-release of the seventh full-length album by the legendary British Heavy/Speed Metal band.
Raven is a Heavy Metal band associated with the New Wave of British Heavy Metal, that formed in 1975. Formed in Newcastle, England by brothers John and Mark Gallagher, Raven quickly set the pace for the burgeoning Metal renaissance in the UK at the time. Band began creating a sound which was rooted in British Hard Rock with Progressive tendencies and a willingness to take musical chances. The band's highly-energized live show and interaction between band members developed an image and style of play-the-band, described as "athletic". They began wearing guards, helmets, and plates from various sports (hockey, baseball, etc...), and incorporating them into the playing of their instruments (for instance, elbow pads and hockey masks were used to strike cymbals for a unique performance angle).
The whole album, from the first track to the last, features a killer excess of speed, and the technical, sometimes progressive instrumental display of each member of the band defines the art and sound of what you will find here. The undisputed truth is that Joe the newbie gets along and combines musically in harmony, synchronicity and perfection with the lunatic Gallagher brothers; the glorious and outstanding virtuosity and creativity fills the tunes with a fierce fresh Metal sound that shows no mercy. The magic of their first 3 albums is reached on “You Got A Screw Loose”, “Kick Your Ass” and “Stick It”, which keep alive the rage and Punkish attitude of the previous release, “Life’s A Bitch”, but the most notable difference with it is that they aren’t as pissed and outrageous, so they pay more attention on the few melodic parts and breaks, making more sophisticated and polished music.
“Nothing Exceeds, Like Excess” is first album without Rob "Wacko" Hunter who apparently quit to spend more time with his new wife who was pregnant at the time of his departure. Rob's replacement was Joe Hasselvander (ex-Armageddon), who has as of 1999 been with the band as long as Wacko was. Anyhow, "Nothing Exceeds…" was Raven's attempt to regain the fans they lost because of their big label, commercial failures that preceded this album. This new CD was far removed from being commercial. What the band focused on was playing as fast as they possibly could with John Gallagher sucking helium before he sang each and every note.
For years this disc was out of print but 1999 saw the re-release on Century Media Records, Germany. Mastering on the original Combat issue CD was horrible, and it would be worth your while to check out the re-mastered edition. On top of this a live version of "Lay Down the Law" was included as a bonus track. The reissue also includes some killer live photos and short liner notes by John Gallagher.
Musthave in every Metal collection!!
Lonely Planet Productions/Century Media, 1988/1999 (66043-2). Made in Germany. Pressed in Czech.

1. Behemoth 1:08
2. Die For Allah 4:59
3. Gimme A Break 3:24
4. Into The Jaws Of Death 6:12
5. In The Name Of The Lord 3:45
6. Stick It 3:13
7. Lay Down The Law 4:48
8. You Got A Screw Loose 4:28
9. Thunderload 4:34
10. The King 4:29
11. Hard As Nails 5:13
12. Kick Your Ass 3:21
13. Lay Down The Law (Live) 4:46
Total playing time: 54:20

Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products