The fourth full-length album by the German Power/Speed/Thrash Metal band.
There comes a point in the timeline of a band where it has to prove whether it's got what it takes to make the breakthrough into the major league or if it'll stick in a semi-famous condition.
Mystic Prophecy has already released three albums. They always included well played classic Power Metal, definitely U.S. oriented, but they lacked of something extra to push them over the top. Last year was a hard one for the band of vocalist R.D. Liapakis. Lots of people left the band. First came the departure of guitar virtuoso Gus G. (Firewind, ex-Dream Evil), then followed by drummer Dennis Ekdahl. They were replaced by two guitar players Markus Pohl (Symphorce) and Martin Grimm (Headstone Epitaph). Though this dynamic duo is not as flashy as Mr. G., they manage to nail down some ultra furious guitar playing. The new drummer was found in the face of Matthias Straub (Sacred Steel).
Pulverizing bass sound and annihilating mid-ranging guitars. Damn, these guys sound heavier than many Death Metal bands (have you noticed that a lot of new Death Metal bands sound like they're having a Power Metal production?)! Then we have the compositions. Liapakis has done a fantastic work this time combining European and (mostly) U.S. sound / techniques than he has ever done in the past. From the ultra furious "Shadows Beyond My Soul", up to "In The Darkness", the way this band combines aggression with melody is stunning. All these elements are really nicely balanced, making the listening of the album a very interesting experience.
It was about time for Mr. Liapakis to offer us such a good album! Fans of Heavy f*****g Metal will fall in love with this one!!
Behind track11, after 9:13 minutes of silence, there's a hidden outro spoken for about 30 seconds.
Massacre Records/Mystic Empire/Mazzar Records, 2006 (MYST CD 114). Made in Russia. Please note: although the CD is new and has never been played, there are light visual shabby on the disc surface, happened during transit, which will not affect the sound quality.

1. Shadows Beyond My Soul     4:18 
2. Master Of Sins     4:30 
3. Evil Empires     4:16 
4. Savage Souls     4:30 
5. In The Darkness     5:10 
6. Deception Of Hate     3:56 
7. Sins And Sorrows     4:26 
8. Best Days Of My Life     4:30 
9. Nightmare Of Demons     4:08 
10. Victim Of Fate     4:34 
11. Into The Fire     15:14
Total playing time: 59:32

Leave a review

Please login or register to review