MASSACRA "Enjoy The Violence" /CD/

  • €6.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 69

< >

Second re-release of the second full-length album by the cult French Death/Thrash Metal band.
This is the first remastered re-release. Even harder, even furiously, even more deadly!
Massacra substantiated the world-beating Death/Thrash credentials that were hinted at by 1990's "Final Holocaust" debut with their aptly named second album, 1991's "Enjoy The Violence", which summarily grabbed that nasty sophomore slump fellow by the throat and beat him to bloody a pulp! Even though it barely deviated from its predecessor's template, Thrashy Death Metal laden with apocalyptic themes, the album boasted a slightly cleaner production at the expense of only mere ounces of the band's precious sonic ferocity, all the while bolstering its makers' reputations as incredible musicians with the remarkable precision necessary to pull off their frantically challenging songs. Just listen as vocalist/bassist Pascal Jürgensen somehow manages to juggle both the band's reliable bottom end and the inhuman growls hovering over it all; as guitarists Fred Duval and Jean-Marc Tristani fine-tune their positively telepathic rhythmic interplay while maturing immensely as stylists from solo to solo; and as drummer Chris Palengat simply steamrolls the band forward indefatigably at whatever pace is necessary, and it's evident why Massacra were reaching the peak of their powers on this outing! So much so, that picking out highlights is almost a pointless exercise, but for shits and giggles, let's go with he ubiquitous title cut, the gloriously profane "Ultimate Anti-Christ," and the more deliberate yet even more foreboding "Near Death Experience." And with minor but significant departures like the clean-picked intro to "Revealing Cruelty" and the surprisingly Doom-paced "Full of Hatred", Massacra were hinting at the broader creative horizons that already beckoned to them, slowly but surely. For now, however, the French quartet could content themselves (if content were ever a word to be associated with such a band and style of music) with the knowledge that "Enjoy The Viole nce" ranked with the absolute best Thrash-infused Death Metal ever recorded!
Anyone like rather original sounding old Death Metal in vein of Asphyx, Death, Possessed, Nihilist should really get this one!!
Re-edition includes seven bonus tracks!!!!
Shark Records/Hellshop, 1991/2012 (hell 006). Made in Poland.

1. Enjoy The Violence     3:37 
2. Ultimate Antichrist     3:40 
3. Gods Of Hate     2:55 
4. Atrocious Crimes     4:01 
5. Revealing Cruelty     3:31 
6. Full Of Hatred     5:00 
7. Seas Of Blood     2:05 
8. Near Death Experience     4:14 
9. Sublime Extermination     2:50 
10. Agonizing World     3:51 
Bonus Tracks:
11. Rehearsal Recording 1991     3:59 
12. Rehearsal Recording 1991     3:22 
13. Rehearsal Recording 1991     6:12 
14. Rehearsal Recording 1991     3:58 
15. Rehearsal Recording 1991     4:25 
16. Live Recording 1995     7:40 
17. Live Recording 1995     5:45
Total playing time: 71:14

Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products

MASSACRA "Final Holocaust" /CD/

Second re-release of the debut full-length album by the cult French Death/Thrash Metal band. The first remastered re-release. Massacra started off with a few demos before they finally released "Final Holocaust" in 1990. As the bigger Thrash bands of the '80s began to go for a much le..


MASSACRA “Signs Of Decline” /CD/

Second re-release of the third full-length album by the cult French Death/Thrash Metal band. Massacra was one of France's leading Death Metal bands in the early nineties, with the speedy 1990 debut "Final Holocaust" in particular showing some major chops. They are considered underrate..