LIMP BIZKIT “Chocolate Starfish And The Hot Dog Flavored Water” /Ltd. 2CD Set/

  • €14.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 149

< >

Special Edition of the third full-length album by the cult American Nu Metal/Rap Metal band.
Smashing Pumpkins knew everybody thought they were tragic romantics; Limp Bizkit knows everybody believes they're juvenile vulgarians, so they're ready to prove 'em right. And how do they do that? With a title that's defiantly vulgar but, more revealingly, embarrassingly awkward. The scatological meaning of "Chocolate Starfish And The Hot Dog Flavored Water" is obvious to anyone who's graduated junior high, but it stumbles over its punch line, winding up as more bewildering than funny or offensive. But it doesn't stop there, or with the sickly cover art, since hot dogs and chocolate starfishes become lyrical themes on the album.
Clearly, Limp leader Fred Durst takes some pride in his ass and dick joke, since he repeatedly uses it to illustrate the one theme of the album, namely how nobody understands him, especially in Limp Bizkit's year of success after 1999's "Significant Other". He may occasionally attempt to frame his rage as us versus them, as on "My Generation", but he winds up bringing everything around to himself. 
"Chocolate Starfish And The Hot Dog Flavored Water" was also released in a "clean" version containing no profanities. This basically guts the record, especially "Hot Dog" where "f*cking up" is used upward of 50 times, but parents should be reassured that there's this option on the market. But they should consider this - not one profanity is used sexually, it's all an expression of rage or slang. After a while, the cursing isn't even noticeable, since it's so omnipresent it winds up signifying nothing. It's just part of the midrange hum, like the drums and droning guitars.
Limp Bizkit's new album was difficult to miss. Guitar riffs are aggressive and the vocals scream of rage (but in a Hip-Hop way). Anyway, this is good, catchy music. This is the album that set the world on fire with its highly contagious lyrics and it's unquestionably Rap Metal sound. With hits like "Rolling'", "My Generation", "My Way", and "Take A Look Around" this is a brilliant all round album. So if you're open-minded about Hip-Hop, why not try it? Others should listen to real Metal instead.
Album debuted at number one on the Billboard 200, selling 1.05 million copies in its first week, making it the fastest-selling Rock album, breaking the record held for 7 years by Pearl Jam's "Vs.", and was the 18th best-selling album of the 2000s in the US. According to the RIAA website, the album has sold over 6 million copies in the United States alone as of 2010 and around 20 million worldwide. The album is listed in the book "1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die".
It features the singles "My Generation", "Rollin' (Air Raid Vehicle)", "Take a Look Around", "Boiler", and "My Way".
Special UK Edition with Enhanced Bonus MCD!!
Flip/Interscope Records, a division of UMG Recordings Inc., 2000 (490 793-2). Made UK. First press.


Disc 1:
1. Intro 1:18
2. Hot Dog 3:50
3. My Generation 3:41
4. Full Nelson 4:07
5. My Way 4:33
6. Rollin' (Air Raid Vehicle) 3:34
7. Livin' It Up 4:24
8. The One 3:42
9. Getcha Groove On 4:29
10. Take A Look Around 5:18
11. It'll Be Ok 5:06
12. Boiler 5:47
13. Hold On 5:47
14. Rollin' (Urban Assault Vehicle) 6:23
15. Outro 2:01

Disc 2:
1. Crushed 3:23
2. Faith 2:27
3. Counterfeit (Lethal Dose Mix) 5:17
4. Faith (Video) 3:19
5. Nookie (Video) 4:29
6. Re-Arranged (Video) 4:32
7. N2 Gether Now (Video) 3:55

Total playing time: 91:22


Write a review

Please login or register to review