ICED EARTH “Framing Armageddon (Something Wicked Part 1)” /Digipack CD/

The ninth full-length album by the legendary American Heavy/Power Metal band.
It is part one of two concept albums based on a trilogy of songs from Iced Earth's fifth studio album, "Something Wicked This Way Comes". The saga, aptly titled the "Something Wicked Saga", tells the fictional history of mankind, from its creation to its destruction.
Clocking in at nearly 70 minutes, "Framing Armageddon - Something Wicked Part 1" is an epic, both in length and musical vision. The songs are dense and complex, and unfold with greater clarity and detail with every listen. There's a diverse mix of upbeat Power Metal anthems, Progressive mid-tempo songs and soaring ballads.
Jon Schaffer has pulled out all the stops in his songwriting. He's always been able to craft songs that are powerful, melodic and memorable, but has added in some other influences here. From Middle Eastern vibes to interludes to a strong musical and lyrical arc, this is a very compelling album. Owens is one of the best singers in the business, and this time around the vocals are right in his wheelhouse, and he knocks it out of the park. It is the second and final album with vocalist Tim "Ripper" Owens.
"Framing Armageddon" is a rare album in the sense that it actually gets better in the end. You could feel that with most albums the “hits” and best tunes are put into the “first half” of an album, if we speak with vinyl-format lengths. This album improves as the minutes draw closer to the end.
This makes perfect sense, when you think about it story-wise. If you follow the tale along with the music, you get to know more with each song and each verse and note pulls you into the story more deeply. This also leaves the feeling that the album’s title can be taken very literally. We are merely being introduced to the coming curse, for Armageddon… is coming soon.
SPV/Steamhammer, 2008 (SPV 98182 CD). Made in Germany. First press.

1. Overture 2:24
2. Something Wicked Pt. 1 5:02
3. Invasion 1:00
4. Motivation Of Man 1:34
5. Setian Massacre 3:48
6. A Charge To Keep 4:24
7. Reflections 1:50
8. Ten Thousand Strong 3:56
9. Execution 1:27
10. Order Of The Rose 4:51
11. Cataclysm 1:30
12. The Clouding 9:18
13. Infiltrate And Assimilate 3:48
14. Retribution Through The Ages 4:31
15. Something Wicked Pt. 2 2:59
16. The Domino Decree 6:36
17. Framing Armageddon 3:40
18. When Stars Collide (Born Is He) 4:17
19. The Awakening 2:01
Total playing time: 68:56

Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products

ICED EARTH “Alive In Athens – The DVD” /DVD; Live/

The second DVD by the legendary American Power/Thrash Metal band. It was recorded on the nights of January 23 and January 24, 1999 in front of sold out crowds of approximately 2000 people (on both nights) at the Rodon Club in Athens, Greece. Iced Earth was supporting the "Something Wicked This..


ICED EARTH “The Reconing” /Ltd. Digipack CD Single/

First CD-Single by the legendary American Heavy/Power Metal band. This is the single for the upcoming full-length album "The Glorious Burden". It's the first official release featuring former Judas Priest singer Tim "Ripper" Owens and guitarist Ralph Santolla. In addition,..


ICED EARTH "The Melancholy E.P." /CD/

First EP from famous American Power/Thrash Metal band. This CD contains EP ’99 + two bonus tracks. The EP contains three original Iced Earth songs and two covers: "Shooting Star" by Bad Company and "Electric Funeral" by Black Sabbath. Bonus tracks: Judas Priest cover of ..