GHOST “Infestissumam” /Digisleeve CD/

  • €9.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 99

< >

The second full-length studio album by Swedish Psycho/Progressive Rock Band.
In 2013, Ghost was forced to go under the moniker Ghost B.C. when being marketed in the US due to another band named Ghost demanding ownership for the title. They were able to overtly drop the "B.C." in 2015, according to an interview with a member, although in those regions required, it still legally remains a part of their name.
"Infestissumam" is just as apocalyptic and musically adventurous as its predecessor, offering up ten new Beelzebub-approved singalongs that reside somewhere between Gothenburg and Broadway. If anything, the album finds the band moving even further away from the genre, adopting a weirdly effective Psycho-Pop/Progressive Rock approach that alternates between winking and sinister, sounding almost like a parody of the longstanding Swedish Black Metal scene. Even if that's the case, "Infestissumam" can be a hell of a lot of fun, especially when it applies its gonzo Satanism with a hefty amount of opulence, as is the case on album highlights like "Per Aspera Ad Inferi" (the most inherently Metal track), the vintage Deep Purple-esque "Idolatrine", and the magnificent, over the top "Year Zero", the latter of which sounds like the song most likely to replace "We Will Rock You" as the sports anthem of choice, in the event that the End Times occur and the sporting world is usurped by the undead. Whatever Ghost's intentions, they've definitely managed to carve out a niche within the increasingly fragmented world of Heavy Metal, and while purists may revile them for their insolence, it's their insubordination that ultimately earns them a place in the genre.
"Infestissumam" debuted at number one on Sweden's Sverigetopplistan chart, selling nearly five times as many copies as the number two album "Wolves" by Miss Li. The album was certified Gold by the International Federation of the Phonographic Industry in October 2014, for sales of 20 000. In the United States, "Infestissumam" sold an estimated 14 000 copies in its first week and debuted at number 28 on the Billboard 200 chart. reported that the album had sold nearly 70 000 copies in the US by November 2015.
Rise Above Records/Island Records Group/Loma Vista/Republic Records/Seven Four Entertainment, LLC/Universal Republic Records, a division of UMG Recordings Inc., 2013 (602537331246). Made in EU.

1. Infestissumam 1:42
2. Per Aspera Ad Inferi 4:09
3. Secular Haze 5:11
4. Jigolo Har Megiddo 3:59
5. Ghuleh / Zombie Queen 7:29
6. Year Zero 5:50
7. Body And Blood 3:43
8. Idolatrine 4:24
9. Depth Of Satan's Eyes 5:26
10. Monstrance Clock 5:53
Total playing time: 47:46 min.



Leave a review

Please login or register to review