DANTALION “All Roads Lead To Death” /CD/

The third full-length album by Spanish Black Metal band.
Dantalion return once again. The cover artwork is quite awesome, holding a sense of imperial funeral or something, creating a very positive first impression to the eyes of the listener that has yet to cherish everything the band has to offer in terms of sound. And indeed, the first eye contact with the audience cannot lie, it utterly depicts the more oppressive side Dantalion have chosen on their latest attempt, a bleak aura is omnipresent through the aesthetics of desolate Black Metal, bearing something from bands like Forgotten Tomb, Burzum, Shining etc.
Everything you ask for is all around, an extreme edge of melancholy that tends to flow like tiny razors deep within your veins, harassing slowly but steadily the organic machinery that lets life blossom. The title holds massive amounts of truth concerning the sound of the band and so it is, a flowing river of massive energy expanding its territory as "All Roads Lead To Death" unleashes torrents of negativity as it washes up the deceased that couldn't survive its menace.
Tormented howls and outraging lamented screams entrance the atmosphere while the rhythm section presents everything it has to say in the most appropriate way and the guitars overwhelm the senses with their railway riffing, the groovier moments, the distorted melodies and inspired solos like the one on "Claws Of Pestilence". The main idea is uprising tempos of demented sorrow that is not afraid to present a more mid-tempo vibe or even slow down for a while, along with a production that compliments the work Dantalion so painfully managed to compose within 56 minutes of tormented malevolence and disharmonic eloquence.
"All Roads Lead To Death" is an opus to internal disharmony, its black & white aesthetic slowly turns to lifeless grey and apathy that offer their place wholeheartedly to scarlet embossed ornaments of dissonance.
Mastered at Unisound Studios by Dan Swanö.
Xtreem Music, 2010 (XM 090 CD). Made in Spain. First press.

1. Only Ashes Remain 
2. Bleakness
3. Walking To Eternity 
4. Claws Of Pestilence
5. My Last Breath 
6. Thought Of Desolation 
7. Scorn
8. Gloom And Failure
Total playing time: 39:40

Samples: http://dantalion.bandcamp.com

Leave a review

Please login or register to review