• €22.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 229

< >

The second full-length studio album by legendry American Rock band.
After ten years of struggling as the Blue Velvets and the Golliwogs, singer/guitarist John Fogerty, his brother guitarist Tom Fogerty, bassist Stu Cook and drummer Doug Clifford scored a #11 hit single with "Susie Q" in June 1968 under the name Creedence Clearwater Revival. Their self-titled album peaked at #52 on the Billboard albums chart.
Released by Fantasy Records in January 1969, “Bayou Country” was the first of three albums of Creedence Clearwater Revival released in that year.
Opening slowly with the dark, swampy "Born on the Bayou", "Bayou Country" reveals an assured Creedence Clearwater Revival, a band that has found its voice between their first and second album. It's not just that "Born on the Bayou" announces that CCR has discovered its sound - it reveals the extent of John Fogerty's myth-making. With this song, he sketches out his persona; it makes him sound as if he crawled out of the backwoods of Louisiana instead of being a native San Franciscan. He carries this illusion throughout the record, through the ominous meanderings of "Graveyard Train" through the stoked cover of "Good Golly Miss Molly" to "Keep on Chooglin'", which rides out a Southern-fried groove for nearly eight minutes. At the heart of "Bayou Country", as well as Fogerty's myth and Creedence's entire career, is "Proud Mary". A riverboat tale where the narrator leaves a good job in the city for a life rolling down the river, the song filled with details that ring so true that it feels autobiographical. The lyric is married to music that is utterly unique yet curiously timeless, blending Rockabilly, Country, and Stax R&B into something utterly distinctive and addictive. "Proud Mary" is the emotional fulcrum at the center of Fogerty's seductive imaginary Americana, and while it's the best song here, his other songs are no slouch, either. "Born on the Bayou" is a magnificent piece of Swamp-Rock, "Penthouse Pauper" is a first-rate rocker with the angry undertow apparent on "Porterville" and "Bootleg" is a minor masterpiece, thanks to its tough acoustic foundation, sterling guitar work, and clever story. All the songs add up to a superb statement of purpose, a record that captures Creedence Clearwater Revival's muscular, spare, deceptively simple sound as an evocative portrait of America.
The album was included in the book "1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die".
Concord Music Group, Inc./Universal International Music B.V., 1969/2015 (FANTASY STEREO 8387 | 0025218838719). Made in EU. Pressed in Czech. 180 g vinyl. Includes a voucher to download MP3 version of the album.


1. Born On The Bayou 5:10 
2. Bootleg 2:58 
3. Graveyard Train 8:32

4. Good Golly Miss Molly 2:39 
5. Penthouse Pauper 3:37 
6. Proud Mary 3:07 
7. Keep On Chooglin' 7:40

Total playing time: 33:43 min.

Leave a review

Please login or register to review