Total Metal Shop

MAYAN “Antagonise” /Ltd. 2LP + Poster/

    Band Info

    Band: MAYAN
  • Product Code: NB 3238-1
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 20.90
  • € 18.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 189

< >

The second full-length studio album by Dutch Symphonic Death Metal band.
Mayan was conceived early 2010 by versatile musician and Epica mastermind Mark Jansen and old friend, ex- After Forever keyboardist, Jack Driessen to write an album in the style they always really wanted. Mark asked guitarist Frank Schiphorst (Symmetry, Christmas Metal Symphony) to join in. Frank has a broad range of experience and skills aboard. When put together with Mark and Jack, an undeniable chemistry takes place producing songs in no time. The band needed the perfect musicians to work this out with, and as a logical result Epica drummer Ariën van Weesenbeek and guitarist Isaac Delahaye joined in. Soon also guest vocalists Henning Basse, Laura Macrì, Simone Simons and Floor Jansen were a fact. Not much later followed by bassist Rob van der Loo (Epica, ex-Delian). Laura and Henning became full members in 2013.
With their first release, "Quarterpast", Mayan got instant recognition in the media as has proven by the excellent reviews, in-depth interviews with many provoking questions about the band's point of view and raving reactions of fans throughout the world.
After very successful tours through parts of Europe, Central and South America, plus playing renowned festivals like ProgPower USA, Graspop Open Air, Heaven & Hell (Mexico) and Zwarte Cross for thousands of fans, the band put themselves on the map instantly.
The new album showcases the current condition of our society, in which our freedom and privacy are further limited. The lies and propaganda from governments all over the world, the spying, a so-called "war on terror", and the insinuated "freedom" we get just to keep us under control. This translated through Mark Jansen’s sharp view and the band’s characteristic style of Symphonic Progressive (Death) Metal, for maximum expression results in the perfect and most powerful and confronting album possible to date.
The new album also features guest appearances by Floor Jansen (After Forever, ReVamp), and future band member Marcela Bovio (Stream Of Passion).
Limited to 300 copies 180g Silver Vinyl in gatefold cover includes Poster.
Nuclear Blast Records, 2014 (NB 3238-1). Made in Germany. First press.


Side A
1. Descry (Bonus Track) 2:14
2. Bloodline Forfeit 4:15
3. Burn Your Witches 5:39

Side B
4. Redemption (The Democracy Illusion) 6:07
5. Paladins Of Deceit (National Security Extremism, Part 1) 6:16
Running time: 24:31 min.
Side C
1. Lone Wolf 5:54
2. Devil In Disguise 4:59
3. Insano 2:57
4. Human Sacrifice 6:10

Side D
5. Enemies Of Freedom 7:09
6. Capital Punishment 4:41
7. Faceless Spies (National Security Extremism, Part 2) 8:09
Running time: 39:59 min.

Total playing time: 64:30 min.

Leave a review

Please login or register to review