LUNARSEA "Route Code Selector" /CD/

The second full-length album by Italian Melodic Death Metal band.
Lunarsea play Gothenburg-style Melodeath, the genre, as with Metalcore and Folk, is overflowing with releases, most of them quite crappy indeed. How are Lunarsea compared to the rest of the flock? Well, basically, they don't add anything new to the well-known recipe: Death Metal grunts, clean-vocals choruses, harsh riffs and nice melodies, keyboards… You name it, it's there...
...But they do it with talent. The songwriting is good, there was a real effort here to write varied songs. The riffs are aggressive as needed, and the melodies are, well, melodic but not overly so, thanks goodness! Speaking of the riffs, some of them are a bit Black Metal influenced at times (like can be heard in "Ashen"). The keyboards, while not in the forefront, are pretty well integrated and do have an impact, with their kinda futuristic feel. It's probably not to everyone's tastes, but it adds a nice twist to the album. All the musicians are good and play well. The production clean, precise and powerful.
So, compared to all the bands that try to make a name for themselves in the Gothenburg/Metalcore scene, Lunarsea really deserve a listen, as they are better than most, even if they're not to the level of the masters of the genre. You like Dark Tranquillity, Soilwork, Scar Symmetry and stuff? Give this "Route Code Selector" a try!
Expertly played and produced, Lunarsea's "Route Code Selector" combines crushing heaviness with moments of lightness and beauty. This is Death Metal that will make you come alive!!
Punishment 18 Records, 2008 (P18R 011). Made in Italy. First press.

1. Magnitude 9.6 03:59
2. Metamorphine 04:50
3. In A Firmness Loop Day 04:45
4. The Apostate 04:42
5. Ashen 05:27
6. Five-Sided Platform Shape 04:42
7. Found Me Cryogenized 04:37
8. Infinite Process One 04:20
9. Suphur's Song, The Swan Died 05:21
10. Subspace Transition 05:56


Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products

LUNARSEA “Hydrodynamic Wave” /CD/

Take a band like In Flames, mix it up with some Children Of Bodom, put more melodic leads into it and less noise, and you'll have a pretty good idea of what Lunarsea are doing here. This might not be the most original piece of music but at least these guys do their job quite good. The album sou..


LUNARSEA “Hundred Light Years” /CD/

The third full-length album by Italian Melodic Death Metal band. Catchy mix of Melodic Death Metal and Progressive Power Metal with mostly harsh vocals. It’s fast paced and rhythmic; uses an abundance of keyboards and includes some unexpected spacey moments with piano and violins. Their sound..