LIQUID TENSION EXPERIMENT "Liquid Tension Experiment 2" /CD/

Japanese edition of the second and final full-length studio album by American instrumental Juzz/Fusion/Progressive Rock/Metal supergroup.
Liquid Tension Experiment (LTE) was an instrumental Progressive Metal band founded by former Dream Theater drummer Mike Portnoy in 1997 at a request from Magna Carta records. It consists of four members: Mike Portnoy, John Petrucci, Jordan Rudess, and Tony Levin. Three of these members have been members of Dream Theater, although when he joined Liquid Tension Experiment, Jordan Rudess had not yet joined Dream Theater, and Mike Portnoy left Dream Theater during 2010.
The band has released two albums through Magna Carta Records. A third album, with the absence of John Petrucci was released in 2007 under the name Liquid Trio Experiment. A live album with the absence of Jordan Rudess (mostly) was released in 2009 under the name Liquid Trio Experiment 2. Three live albums and two videos were released in 2009 by the complete band.
Blasting into "Acid Rain", just like the first LTE album blasts into "Paradigm Shift", Portnoy and the gang once again grab there audiences attention and show listeners they mean business within the first few seconds. Next up a track "Biaxident" with a great riff and very catchy Latin sorta thing going on. How Petrucci throws in one of the heaviest solo's on the album without screwing up this song's flow is unbelievable. Next up one, "914", seems to be all over the place musically. Sounds very Levin/Rudess inspired. "Another Dimension" with the beat inspired from an old Beastie Boys song is a great tune that adds more and more to the album. "Chewbacca" with a heavier guitar feel and soloing gets a turn and its really great stuff. If it wasn’t obvious that Jordan Rudess was the man, he proves himself in the opening to "Liquid Dreams". A great little song clocking in a bit under 11 minutes. For the last track "Hourglass" is a wonderful short song that ends the album off in style.
The album is just so fu***n good! Maybe you never heard anything like it! Pure Musical Masterpiece!!!
The album reached No. 8 on the Billboard Top Internet Albums chart and No. 40 on Billboard's Heatseekers.
CD comes with OBI and booklet with special Japanese inserts.
Magna Carta Records/Avalon/Marquee Inc., Japan, 1999 (MICY-1123). Made in Japan. First press.

1. Acid Rain 6:35
2. Biaxident 7:40
3. 914 4:01
4. Another Dimension 9:50
5. When The Water Breaks 16:58
6. Chewbacca 13:35
7. Liquid Dreams 10:48
8. Hourglass 4:26
Total playing time: 73:59


Leave a review

Please login or register to review