Joey Summer “One Bite From Paradise” /CD/

  • €6.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 69

< >

The second full-length album by Brazilian AOR/Melodic Rock guitarist and singer.
Joey Summer was born in Rio De Janeiro, came from a Greek background, and this album carries a lot of influence from West Coast USA upbeat Rock.
“One Bite From Paradise” is very much an album of two halves. We’ve got the first half which starts with the intro, a spoken word introduction over some atmospheric keyboards which segues nicely into the first track, “One Bite From Paradise”. It’s all very upbeat, and harder Rock with some good solos and vocals from all involved. Then we have the second half, which strays very much into ballad territory starting from “Addicted To Your Love”. At this point it starts going very eighties. Then the last two songs – “The Prize Of Love” and “No-One’s Gonna Hurt Me Anymore” - pick up the energy of the first four songs. Midway through the album, a plaintive piano opening with a Pop based approach to the song "From Miles Away" is a well-placed break from the energetic songs that precede it and has thoughtful vocal harmonies beefing up the chorus. There are awesome guitar solos, and Joey does sing well. Extremely admirable that Joey Summer covered a lot of the instruments himself. The album features again the great songwriter and keyboadist Fredrik Bergh (Street Talk) in the song “Heaven To Earth” penned by Fredrik and co-written in partnership with Joey Summer especially for this release. Also the album brings another two especial guests: Frédéric Slama and Tommy Denander (Alice Cooper, David Coverdale, Paul Stanley) who also played all the instruments in the track “No One’s Gonna Hurt Me Anymore“, penned by Frédéric Slama and Sarah Fontaine from Chasing Violets.
So if you are after a something AORish with a bit of a story and smooth guitar work, this album will definitely be of interest!
Perris Records, 2012 (PER3872). Made in USA. First press.

1. Obfp (Overture) 1:50 
2. One Bite From Paradise 3:37 
3. Running Through The Night 4:28 
4. No Margin For Erro 4:12 
5. Addicted To Your Love 5:32 
6. From Miles Away 4:14 
7. Heaven To Earth 4:30 
8. That's What I'm Waiting For 4:45 
9. Sailor On The Moon 4:49 
10. It's Only Your Love 4:56 
11. The Prize Of Love 5:20 
12. No One's Gonna Hurt Me Anymore 5:15
Total playing time: 53:28

Leave a review

Please login or register to review