Total Metal Shop

HOLY SOLDIER "Holy Soldier" /CD/

    Band Info

  • Product Code: 7016896617 / 75021 5306 2
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 8
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 7.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 79

< >

Used: like new.

The debut full-length album by American Melodic Heavy Metal band.
Holy Soldier is a band that has secured their position as one of the most important and identifiable bands in Christian Rock & Roll history. Formed in Los Angeles in 1985, band distill so much of the music that had come before them and has exerted a decisive influence on so much that has come after. Very few artists and musicians in their genre have achieved that stature, and stand proudly among them.
Several well-known musicians, including Larry Farkas of Vengeance Rising/Once Dead have been a part of the band. Holy Soldier showcases immaculate production values allowing each member of the band to shine. The lead guitar and bass, both distinctly rising above the mix, underscore a crisp sounding rhythm guitar. The drums pack the needed punch and power. Vocalist Steven Patrick, when at the top of his game, proves one of the better frontmen of his era.
Holy Soldier were the first Heavy Metal band to ever be signed by Word Records.
Holy Soldier play melodic, somewhat commercial Heavy Metal with strong hooks and killer vocals by Steven Patrick. The album stands out with its consistency in that each of its tracks brings the needed inspiration to hold up under repeated play. Things get underway with “Stranger” and “See No Evil”, two energetic Hard rockers, before the spine tingling ballad “The Pain Inside Of Me” is obtained. The raw and gritty “Cry Out For Love” gives way to one of the albums heavier pieces, “Tear Down The Walls” while the stylish “When The Reign Comes Down” perfectly complements the acoustic laced “Lies” and mega-melodic ballad “Eyes Of Innocence”. Closing things out are two upbeat tracks, the emotionally charged “Love Me” and Metal anthem “We Are Young, We Are Strong”.
Holy Soldier’s self-titled debut was nothing less than a groundbreaking release for the Christian Metal scene. From the songwriting, to the bands performance, to the production and packaging, no detail was overlooked- everything was done to the highest level of professionalism. If you missed the long out of print original Myrrh release, then by all means pick up this re-issue.
Word, Inc./Myrrh/A&M Records, 1990 (7016896617 / 75021 5306 2). An exact bootlegged replica of original US disc. Used: like new.

1. Stranger 3:25 
2. See No Evil 5:28 
3. The Pain Inside Of Me 6:35 
4. Cry Out For Love 3:28 
5. Tear Down The Walls 3:58 
6. When The Reign Comes Down 5:17 
7. Lies 4:58 
8. Eyes Of Innocence 3:55 
9. Love Me 4:15 
10. We Are Young, We Are Strong 5:15
Total playing time: 46:34

Leave a review

Please login or register to review