Total Metal Shop

HEAVENS GATE "Hell For Sale!" /CD/

  • HEAVENS GATE "Hell For Sale!" /CD/

    Band Info

  • Product Code: VICP-5208
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 5
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 4.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 49

< >

Used: very good.

The third full-length album by the German Heavy/Power Metal band.
Band started out as Steeltower in 1982 releasing their first record, "Night Of The Dog", in 1984. Before signing with No Remorse Records, they were known under the name of Carrion and several of their songs ended up re-worked on debut album "In Control". Band changed their name to Heavens Gate in 1987. First record as Heaven's Gate was released in 1989. They starts together with Helloween, Gamma Ray, Grave Digger, Running Wild and Rage, the pioneers in German Power Metal, taking influences mainly from Helloween as well as from Judas Priest. Soon after releasing "In control" Heavens Gate were embraced by the German Metal audience and had an amazing response in Japan.
"Hell For Sale!" has everything anyone could ever want in a Power Metal release; screaming vocals, crunchy guitars, fast licks, double bass, and plenty of melody. The album starts off with a fast, chunky track titled "Under Fire" that sets the mood for the entire CD. Had a band like Primal Fear or Gamma Ray recorded this, it would be considered a Metal Classic! However, being that Heavens Gate isn’t as well known worldwide as those bands, it is relegated to us Underground Die-hards.
The title track is equally vicious with a gang chorus and some screaming vocals from Thomas Rettke. The lead breaks are pretty cool in the song as well. "He's the Man" brings the speed down some. This song has a slight Queen vibe to it, especially in the layered vocals, but also reminds of Helloween with their big epic, sing along feel. "Up An' Down" is a boogie rocker with a fun solo break in the middle. This song sort of reminds of some of the heavier L.A. bands from the 80's. "Don't Bring Me Down" is the obligatory ballad. One other track worth mentioning is "America", a mid-paced romp that takes issues with America. America bashing is nothing new; it's been going on for decades. The CD finishes off with the incredibly silly "Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life". While this song is obviously meant as a sort of joke, it is one of those songs that always make us smile, partly because of the lyrics and partly because of the silliness of the delivery.
"Hell For Sale!" is a solid European Power Metal album. It's really a shame that Heavens Gate didn't gain a wider audience. The certainly deserved it!!
Victor Musical Industries, Inc., 1992 (VICP-5208). Made in Japan. Used: very good.

1. Under Fire 3:37
2. Hell For Sale! 3:18
3. He's The Man 4:16
4. Stars 'n' Stripes 0:26
5. America 3:53
6. Atomic 3:36
7. Rising Sun 3:28
8. No Matter 3:12
9. Up An' Down 3:53
10. Don't Bring Me Down 4:29
11. White Evil 4:57
12. Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life 3:51
Total playing time: 42:56


Leave a review

Please login or register to review

Related Products


The fifth and the final full-length album by the cult German Heavy/Power Metal band. Not as much power metal anymore, but you still can't make the mistake of taking them for anything else than Germans, and there is still speed and catchy parts to go around, not just as much as earlier - not nea..

€ 7.90