Total Metal Shop

FUNERAL FORNICATION “The Lamentation” /Digipack CD/

    Band Info

  • Product Code: KBR019
  • You will get bonus-scraps: 5
  • Availability: In Stock

  • € 4.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 49

< >

The fifth full-length album by Canadian Atmospheric Depressive Black Metal band.
Five years after it’s last full-length, Canadian Black Metal solo project Funeral Fornication has released "The Lamentation", a shining example of how artists go through stylistic evolutions. It’s apparent that, for better or for worse, the sole member Vultyrous has decided to take a more mellow approach to his usual flavor of Black Metal.
Funeral Fornication has always been heavy on the synthetic sounds, as most solo projects tend to be out of necessity. However, this time around, they take a more direct role in the soundscape created on the album. This is largely due to the relaxation of the guitar and especially the vocals; the raw DSBM feel has been traded in for a calm, Post-Metal vibe that.
Black metal elements can be heard nearly everywhere on this album, but that’s really what they’ve been reduced to elements. Style aside, Funeral Fornication has always had a knack for melancholic melodies that sound like they belong in old video games.
"The Lamentation" turned to be a step forward for this project. Focus on Ambient and Progressive elements makes for an interesting listen to this album.
Kristallblut Records, 2016 (KBR019). Made in Germany. First press.

1. In Exile 07:13
2. Apex Iridescent 06:48
3. Serpent Born 06:13
4. Bring Back the Frost 01:31
5. Vulturous 06:55
6. Dead as Dreams 06:01
7. Lunacy Aurora 06:37
8. Sorrowspell 08:07
Total playing time: 49:25 min.


Leave a review

Please login or register to review