FLEETWOOD MAC “Future Games” /LP/

  • €24.90

  • Price in bonus-scraps: 249

< >

Second re-release of the fifth full-length studio album by legendary British-American Folk/Jazz Rock band.
The first album to feature Christine McVie as a full member and the first of five albums to feature American guitarist Bob Welch.
Without the 1950s leanings of departed guitarist Jeremy Spencer, the band moved further away from Blues and closer to the Folk Rock and melodic Pop sound that would finally break them into America four years later. In result, "Future Games" sounds almost nothing like Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac.
Bob Welch's eight-minute title track, featuring lead guitar from Danny Kirwan, has one of Welch's characteristic haunting melodies and, with pruning and better editing, it could have been a hit. Christine McVie's "Show Me a Smile" is one of her loveliest ballads.
Initial popular reaction was mixed: the album didn't sell as well as "Kiln House", but it sold better than any of the band's first three albums in the U.S. In the U.K., where the original lineup had been more successful, "Future Games" didn't chart at all; the same fate that would befall the rest of its albums until the Lindsey Buckingham-Stevie Nicks era.
Remastered 140 g vinyl. Remastered by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering.
Warner Bros. Records/Rhino Entertainment Company, A Warner Music Group Company. 1971/2013 (8122796549). Made in EU.


Side One
1. Woman Of A Thousand Years 5:28
2. Morning Rain 5:39
3. What A Shame 3:20
4. Future Games 8:18

Side Two
1. Sands Of Time 7:24
2. Sometimes 5:27
3. Lay It All Down 4:31
4. Show Me A Smile 3:21

Total playing time: 43:28 min.

Leave a review

Please login or register to review